Understanding the Asian driver


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
December 21st 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

In Canada, we have rules of the road that we are taught to follow. Speed limits, traffic signs, staying in your own lane, signalling etc. However, being a pedestrian, as well as renting bicycles and motorbikes, I have become fully aware of the traffic situation in southeast Asia.

Simply put, there are no rules. IT's controlled chaos. In smaller centers, there are very few traffic lights or signs. Very rarely are there lines painted on the road. Motorbikes and bicycles weave inbetween larger vehicles that are stopped at a red light. I've seen a handful of speed limit signs throughout my travels. In some of the larger cities, I've seen quite a few traffic cirlces where it's a total free-for-all. When you want to pass someone on the highway, or anywhere for that matter, you simply honk your horn to alert oncoming traffic and proceed to step on the gas pedal.

But somehow, it works. I have not seen a single accident or case of road rage. No one signals because all the other drivers will let you in or go around you. The vehicles on the road are mostly motorbikes and bicyles, with the odd car or truck, so even though there are more vehicles on the road, they take up less space. Furthermore, everyone drives at half the speed we do in Canada. Honking is polite.

People transport the craziest things on their motorbikes. Everyday I see entire families, small children included, all riding on one motorbike. I've seen mothers holding their babies in front of them while they drive. Pigs going to market, huge boxes strapped to the back, gallons of water. I even saw a man balancing a large pane of glass on his knees as he drove through a steady stream of traffic.

I have never once felt unsafe while driving or being driven. When I drive at home, I'm constantly being cut off and end up screaming with rage in my car. But driving here is so easy because everyone is so courteous.

So the next time you're cursing the existence of the Asian driver, take a deep breath and be patient! We all get to where we're going eventually. 😊

Advertisement



21st December 2008

Thanks for going to #14 so quickly! (No, I'm not superstitious -- not at all!) :-)
23rd December 2008

Woah, wild! I'll bet it helps that there are so much fewer cars. I'm impressed that they can make it work! That guy with the glass sounds like an accident waiting to happen...

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb