Hanoi, Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Street scene in HanoiStreet scene in HanoiStreet scene in Hanoi

Imagine 100s of motorbikes zipping through the streets. There are few traffic lights. To cross the street, walk slow and make eye contact with the driver (and a few prayers will help, too)
I've said I don't fall in love with men, I fall in love with countries. And I did...again.

Hanoi is one of the most chaotic cities I've ever dared cross the street in, but I loved it. It's got everything for the senses: smells of food cooking on the street, sounds of horns blaring, people selling fruit, women wearing conical hats, etc... Your senses are overwhelmed. The food was delicious - I had duck twice.

On Sunday I went to Halong Bay on an overnight tour. There were 10 of us and I shared a room with another single female traveler around my age. The boat is called a "junk." In a way they treat them like that. They are packed in tight at the dock. They are like 'bumper boats' coming in or out of the dock. Many have the corners of their roofs ripped apart.

Halong Bay is gorgeous. There are rocky islands all over. We went on one and walked through a cave. We set anchor in the late afternoon and jumped into the water - it was refreshing to say the least. The food on the boat was delicious. I went back to
Ho Chi Minh MausoleumHo Chi Minh MausoleumHo Chi Minh Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh mausoleum. I think it's open in the mornings. I went in the afternoon and it was closed. I just walked around. There's a museum too. He seems to have been loved by the people.
Hanoi the next day.

On Tuesday I took the local public bus to the bus station. What a trip that was! At the station I was hounded by at least 10 men asking, grabbing my arm, "where are you going?" I have no idea if they get commission from the bus companies or not. Anyways, I bought my ticket to Nimh Bihn for 30,000 dong (about 2 USD). There were women with bandanas wrapped around their noses -to keep out the bus fumes in the parking lot- selling loaves of bread. I was tapped on the arm with a warm bottle of water on the bus which I gratefully drank. Hanoi was like a sauna - I never sweat so much in my life. The bus ride lasted about 1 1/2 hours - the scenery in Vietnam was beyond my expectations. I felt like the happiest puppy in the world, going on a joy ride in the car.

My hotel room - for 9 USD - was quite nice - high ceilings, fan and air con, double bed, hot water, tv, etc. I don't think the hotel manager quite liked me though. I wanted to see the surrounding
Halong BayHalong BayHalong Bay

Beautiful scenery on the bay~ Some people live on boats and there are community 'houses' in the water~ This photo was taken at the cave.
areas without going on a 2 or 3 hour boat ride - I didn't think I could take the heat or the resulting sun burn. I found a guy on a motor bike at the end of the street (public transportation) and offered him 100,000 dong (about 6 USD) to take me to Kengh Ga and Hoa Lu. Wow!!! I had the time of my life! We drove through rice paddies, alongside canals, over bales of wheat. Kids shouted "hello" and tried to touch me. We had to stop for cows, goats, and dogs. I never had so much fun in my life! I thought if my life ended today (which it could have with my driver's heavy 'hand' on the gas), I would have lived a full and happy life. :-)

The next day I found my driver waiting on the corner. I asked him to take me to Tam Coc - waterways, caves, hills. I again chose not to go on the boat ride, but instead walked around and went to the embroidery shops. Vietnam has beautfiul handicrafts - I love when things are still made by hand. We then went to a temple. I felt like
Halong Bayat nightHalong Bayat nightHalong Bayat night

The boats are called 'junks.'
"Indiana Joans and the temples of Vietnam" ;-) What an adventure.

I took the public bus back to Hanoi in the afternoon and treated myself to a nice dinner on the lake in Hanoi.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kengh Ga Kengh Ga
Kengh Ga

Kengh Ga has waterways - for fishing, raising ducks, etc. Rice paddies all over with people in conical hats picking rice and choppy mountains in the background (looks like Halong Bay with rice paddies)
Hoa LuHoa Lu
Hoa Lu

The rice paddies are gorgeous - shades of green, mountainous backdrops, people working - hard lives- in conical hats. The average salary here is 50 USD/month.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb