Eco Outdooriness, Adventuring and Illness!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the complete mentalness of Hanoi we have spent the last week in Northern Vietnam, firstly in Halong Bay on a lovely junk swimming and kayaking among the karsts and then trekking in Sapa right up on the Chinese border with Vietnam - all in all far uncharacteristically adventurous!

The mountains in SaPa were truly amazing, especially the view from our Eco Lodge (water heated by solar panels ! Soon we will both be sandal wearing green party activists..). We went for two treks to local villages where Charlotte contemplated kidnapping cute village children. Hywel was rather more partial to the pot bellied pigs and the ever funny water buffalo. At the end of the second trek we ended up at an idyllic water fall for swimming and jumping from rocks etc (- brilliant ) with our new found american buddies May and Nakeisha ( I smell a jolly trip to San Francisco in the future...). Particular note must be made of the dead pigs being transported by moped and Nakisha's ability to get even more mud than Charlotte over her. We also saw a rather scary military training school randomly placed at the top of a mountain near a Red Dao tribal village called Thanh Kim.

So much adventure has left me (Charlotte) a little bit broken. I spent a lovely evening with my head down the sleeper train loo through which you could actually see the train tracks! Not an experience I want to replay especially with the sorest legs after the trek and sun burn! Fantastic way to spend 10 hours!

Now we are safely roasting to death in 39 degree heat in Hue...will do another entry when the sweats have stopped. H & C xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th July 2006

Green eyed, red haired monster
The more I read, the more jealous I become but in a gripped rather than repulsed type of way... I wonder if I will still be in my job by the time you get back?! Perchance, I may be on a plane to nowhere to build campfires with idigenous peoples... only kidding, I am still going out with Barnes after all :o) I have dyed bits of my hair bright fire engine red to empathise with your adventures (red streaks sadly are the limit of my adventures nowadays) - luckily I haven't been fired yet. Barnes is convinced I've lost the plot and am in the midst of some mad rebellion/mid life crisis... luckily for him, I just fancied changing my hair! Once again, I am so jealous of all the exciting things you guys are doing, and that you're doing them together! Keep up with the blog.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb