Old friends


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
December 20th 2011
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 18.7904, 98.9847

My morning walk passes the currency exchange office that always used to use and it still appears to be the best rates in town. We have arranged to meet up with a Candian friend Cliff and his wife Tukta at a bar we have not been to before. Walking along Loi Kroh Road Jai spots them sat at a table and we join them for a late breakfast. Cliff had been pretty ill earlier this year spending a lot of time in hospital here and it was good to see him looking well again. He has to visit the Canadian Consulate so I go and change some money and then take it and pay it into my bank account. If I pay money into my account at any other bank in the country other than the branch where I actually opened the account then I have to pay the bank to take my money from me. Took some getting used to along with other banking practices that I find strange but ... what can you do. Whilst I am updating my account Jai takes takes out some medical insurance for the coming year. Walk back to Sugar Bar and meet up with Cliff & Tukta and later American friend Dave and his wife Max arrive to join us. Spend the rest of the day in the bar drinking far too much beer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb