Arrival to Koh Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
December 26th 2015
Published: December 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After a 10 hour layover in Bangkok, I finally landed in the Koh Samui airport. From there, I took a taxi to Lamai Coconut Resort which is right along the shore. The director, Jen, kindly showed me to my bungalow in the dark. Since I arrived at night, I couldn't see the ocean, but from the roar and the mist, I knew we were very close. I settled in, unpacked my bags and met my roommate, Emma who goes to school at Miami University in Ohio. We bonded over our past travel experiences and common interests. We also share similar career goals in allied health and supplementing international work. Emma is studying nursing and would like to spend time in developing countries. I am studying Physical Therapy and would also enjoy the opportunity of volunteering internationally with my future career. The two of us really get along, and I can tell others in the group share similar interests and experiences which will be fun to hear about.

My first morning waking up in Thailand was not as peaceful as I had imagined! <a style="color:𶐎 background-position: 0px 0px;">At 8:00</a> we were awakened by loud pounding and drilling, as our resort is currently under construction. I headed out to the beach for our first creative writing class. As a science major, I don't spend that much time writing poems or short stories, but Jen eased us into the activities, respecting everyone's different backgrounds and styles with writing. She also explained the structure of the course and our plans for the next two weeks. Basically, we alternate class days with excursion days. Sometimes during excursions, however, we have a prompt that we are expected to bring to class the following day. For the interest of those reading my blog posts, I'll be writing primarily about the excursion days, but I will include a few descriptions of some assignments in class that I find compelling. If you'd like to know the adventures I am taking during my two week stay, my blog will offer a brief but detailed description. I might even create an entry specific to the food I'm enjoying here, so stay tuned!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.554s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb