Day 2 at Khao Lak - Warming up!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 10th 2014
Published: July 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The end of another day has come and although I do feel like falling asleep right now, I thought I'd quickly add a blog entry (for those of you who really want to read all about our trip).

We seem to have adjusted quite easily to the small time difference already so we are awake by 7am and heading off to breakfast with the other early risers. Of course Mum and Dad were a little later than us ... they were lucky enough to sleep in! We saw the sun today after an overcast day yesterday so we lathered ourselves in sun-cream and headed to the pool first up. We spent a lazy couple of hours while the boys entertained themselves in the water before Scott and I left the boys under the watchful eyes of Mum and Dad and we set off with a mission to book a car or a driver to explore a little of the local area.

Unfortunately we did not have much luck ... so we headed by foot to a supermarket close by to stock up on some drinks and snacks before heading back to the resort. Thankfully the boys had not shifted since we'd left and they were still in the pool on our return.

After eating far too much at the breakfast buffet we "forgot" about lunch as we had a 1pm massage booked in for 4 of us (Dylan didn't want a massage he'd told me yesterday). Well, according to Scott, it was the best massage he had EVER had! Kobe got a full one hour (and had a bonus nap during his rub down), Blake had a full hour but fought to stay awake the whole time, and Dylan (who yesterday didn't want a massage) decided half way through my 1 hour that he wanted a "turn." Sadly (for me) that meant I gave up my second half ....but it was worth it to see him enjoy his foot massage. The added bonus was he also had a little sleep! Obviously it was relaxing for them. It was hilarious to see the Thai ladies all scrambling to get to the boys ... they wall wanted to massage them ... they were not at all excited about massaging Scott or I!

Mum and Dad enjoyed their 1 hour massages immediately after we finished ... and from all reports they also thought it was pretty special. We are now looking forward to Saturday when we have all booked in for a full 1 hour session again (This time I won't have to share my time).

In the afternoon we went for a short walk along the beach front to the south of the resort. Sadly, about 2-3 weeks ago a very big storm caused a lot of sand erosion so the beach is looking quite damaged at the moment. The locals are feeling the punch as many of the local beach bars and restaurants were badly effected. Lucky for us, we found a spot where we could enjoy a quiet beer and cocktail whilst the boys played in the sand and caught a hatful of hermit crabs!

Scott, Mum and Dad took the boys back towards the resort whilst I headed to the main street in search for a local company I'd read about who could help me arrange a trip to a place called Cheow Lan Lake in Koh Sok National Park. After getting a bum steer from a few locals who all told me different directions ... I finally stumbled across the man I wanted to meet. His name is Boss and he runs a business here in Khao Lak called "Cheaper than Hotel Taxis." To my amazement he spoke perfect English so chatting to him was fantastic! I'd already emaled him from home so I had some understanding of what he could provide. I managed to book a private driver through him for tomorrow, who will take us exactly where we want to go. I can't wait .... tomorrows Blog entry will reveal all details of the events of the day I imagine.

Anyway, I'm sure everyone thought I'd got lost whilst I was out, but I actually made it back to the resort for "Happy Hour" after a long hot walk and a detour via a couple of shops to buy water and more water. A couple of cocktails and I'd forgotten about the heat and the sore feet 😊

Whilst we were sipping on a cold refreshment the boys were busying themselves in the gym. We had Dylan and Blake on the treadmill and Kobe on the rowing machine. They were loving the idea of getting all hot and sweaty (even though it was of course air conditioned. It was perfect for us as we could relax whilst they expended the last of their energy!

Tonight we booked a babysitter and the boys had a simple dinner before she arrived so we could go and eat at one of the restaurants with a dinner voucher (also included in our package). We had a lovely BBQ meal tonight ... very Aussie really ... but we added the Thai flavour to everything with a home-made chilli and lemon sauce - yum!

That's it for today ... watch this space for the (hopefully) spectacular photos to come tomorrow!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb