Countdown


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Just over 7 weeks until we leave for Thailand. Too soon yet to get really excited because we all still have a lot to do. Work is busy as always and Nick and Sarah have another 4 weeks of classes followed by exams. Now is a good time to get my blog organized so that I will not be left trying to figure it all out at the last moment.

Nick will be staying in Lampang province for 4 months - volunteer teaching English and music. Sarah and I are accompanying him and will return home after 3 weeks.

Our journey will take us from Thunder Bay to Toronto and on to Hong kong where we will stop-over for 4 days. When I was serving with the British Army back in the 70's, I had the good fortune to be stationed in Hong Kong for 2 years. I was of young and did not really appreciate it fully and so it will be wonderful to see it again. How much can a big bustling city change I wonder. Hopefully, it won't smell as bad as it did back then.

Following Hong Kong, we fly on to Bangkok for a couple of days and then on to Phuket in southern Thailand. After the bustle of Hong Hong we will enjoy 4 days at a beach resort. How many Thai massages can a person tolerate in a day? I aim to find out and will publish my research at a later date.

After Phuket, its off to Chiang Mai for 4 days where we hope to do some jungle trekking and river rafting. A few days are to be spent in Lampang City where we will take in an elephant trek. It will also be an opportunity to meet the host family Nick will stay with. This will be his first time separating from the mothership and it will be comforting for me to know that his "host mother" will continue to keep him in order.

Sarah and I will then travel back to Bangkok for a one night stay before catching a direct flight back to Canada.

Advertisement



19th April 2011

Update required!
So how is it going so far?! Debs x
22nd April 2011

watching for updates
please keep this updates
23rd April 2011

Hi Debs. We are having a wonderful time so far. My only concern is that I might exceed my luggage limitation on the return trip. There is so much to buy- beautiful asian skirts and tops, sandals, oh it just pains me to think there is a restriction on the weight. If need be, I will pay for an extra case :) Dave would have a fit. Men just don't understand these things. bfn
24th April 2011

havin fun?
Hope all is well and you are eating well..............enjoy the warmth, we had snow again today.............Happy Easter!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb