Weekend Market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 21st 2010
Published: November 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we Matt and I decided to hit up the massive weekend market. It definately lived up to it's name. We spent around 4 hours there and we still didn't get through it. In fact I think we just got throuh the clothes section. It was really fun although our bargaining skills left alot to be desired. Some places wouldn't even bargain at all. We each baught some necessities and decided we would go back at the end of our trip.

We ended up heading back and habit some dinner. After dinner James and I decided to go for a massage. I got the feet and he went for the traditional Thai. I think we will make these massages a habit. They were amazing again. After that I decided to practice my bargaining. It made it much easier when I had no intention of buying. James and I went up the road and stopped at almost all the keosks so I could do it. I ended up getting most of the really low and feel much better about going back to the weekend market.

The highlight came at the end when I saw a roles dealer. I decided to put my practice to test. I had decided earlier that i would not buy the watch,I just wanted to see if I could get the dealer down to 1000 baht for his best watch. Well he started at 1500 baht and after about 10 minutes of haggling with some help from James I managed to do much better than I thought and got hi. To almost half price at 800 baht. Naturally I had to buy it at that point. The lowest I had been Able to get them in the weekend market was 1100.

Getting ready for another eventful day tomorrow.

Advertisement



22nd November 2010

Stuff
yo ang buy me some stuff and ship it back bro!! I can transfer money into your account. shirts and watches and hats you know the good stuff!!! early christmas present!! So jealous of you guys, i see matts photos

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb