Days like these...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
April 16th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

How is life?
I am well. Doing great. Yes...

Wow. My time of about a month is coming to an end here in Thailand. I am still amazed how time does fly by. Unreal.

I have come full circle. I made my way in a large arc through the northlands of Thailand. It was good and i learned much.

The hill tribe peoples, thais, and refugees from Burma were all fascinating. Very poor by western standards but such things matter not to most of the people. They are far more wealthy than most people i see walking the streets in my country. They are so warm and kind and will welcome you into their homes and give what they have. I in turn give what i have. It was good.
I did hear of a province up in the extreme corner of Thailand. They have dog farms and they aren't running an adoption agency. I wouldn't go there or spend any money there. I hate that more than anything, as most of you well know. If you don't care for animals you lack a soul and don't deserve to breathe.
Seeing the strays and the life some pups and cats have make me want to give Anna an even better existence. The King (oldest living royalty in the world i think) said once that he liked animals, so most thai citizens don't really hurt animals but they don't do anything to control their numbers. And that is a crime itself. It's also against their Buddhist ways to be inhumane.
I was in a province (like one of our states) in the northeast. Isaan region. The girls/women there are keen on the idea to marry a foreigner. A local thai guy told me that lots do marry us 'farang' and that the families of the girl push it because she can work in the west and send home money. Kind of lacks the whole perfect love and life theory for a life partner. But with nearly 55percent of unions ending in divorce in the US, why not??
The girls are taller there near the border with Laos. Also have a little darker skin than most asians. Long dark hair and you all know how i feel about that!!... So what do you think?? Should we make this an interactive blog. Get some feedback ....take a poll. Should I find a girl up there?? What do you think?
I know what you think JL, but how bout the rest of you. I'll post the results of the poll later. Bring it!

I have learned much. The food here is wonderful. Most of it spicy. I have learned the good (safe) choices from the street vendors and no name restaurants. I really like thai omlette over rice. They take two eggs (fried) and mix in seasoned pork and veges. The curries and chicken are all great. The fruit here is soo great. I have a platter of it for breakfast on most days. Some fruits i don't even know and couldn't pronounce anyway. But all that matters not. I love the stuffed squid with pork and garlic and onions and spices. Shark fin and fried insects were different but good.
A plate of thai food will cost you about 50 cents. A dollar for fancy items. And 1 - 2.50$ for western type things. (per meal)

My rough start to Thailand. I didn't feel much like socializing. Didn't hold a conversation in english for 10 days. Not one. It was really cool. You should try it. Not a sentence for 10 days.
I broke from that when the right moment hit. And yes, she was really cool Jeff. Sorry no pics though. I don't really think of the camera in social times.
I met up with and shared a couple of meals with a father and son from England. They were travelling and exploring SE Asia together. I thought that was really really cool. They were like best friends. They could do and say anything. I was envious.... but glad others had that opportunity.

In Thailand, you have the well-off and the poor. Not much inbetween. Most are wonderful people, simple and just trying to make a life. Like all places, some folks in the tourism industry suck, but such as life.

I do love the waterfalls in the national parks. The most peaceful, clean spots with the best swimming holes. Its like a postcard. And aside from the weekends, you can have the falls far up the mountain to yourself. Cool water. Not Utah/Colorado/Navajo Lake cold, just cool. But very much needed when its over 100 deg. Like a couple of my pics show maybe.
You can ride elephants up to the trailhead and bamboo raft back down the river to town but doing that once is enough. Fun though.
I do have to say that the flora here is a letdown. When i envisioned Thailand and it's jungles i was more blown away with the purity and quality of New Zealand's jungles/ temp rainforests) Things here just lack that but yes, are much older and less protected.
The markets here are cool. You ladies might like them better as I am not much of a shopper. Like anywhere, a lot of junk that you would never use, but is cool at the time.

SONGKRAN (Thai New Year) Its the year 2549 or so. The thai's started their calendar systems from when lord Buddha died. They don't use the gregorian type.
This is a festival of water. To wash away the past year and cleanse for the new one. Here is a visual. Take main street Cortez or Page or wherever. People lining both sides of the street and there are 55 gallon drums filled with ice water every 20 meters or so to refill. People walking down the middle of the street drenching each other. Trucks with wayy too many people in the back gunning down the street folk. Buckets, pails, water guns, or anything you can find to fling large amounts of water on. Scooters carrying 1-4 people roll up and down the road too. We have this water war from about noon till dark. That is the scene all over Thailand. Its soo much fun. My days as a water rat (remember that jill) are coming in handy in tactics and battle. Baby powder mixed with water is smeared on your face by all.
Its just a great time with great people. No worries and all are friends.
Today and tomorrow are the last of the 4 day holiday.

I met up with my friends. Chris (london) just got out of the army. Maarten (germany) is still in college and angelika (australia) is just out of high school . We and a girl from holland and another from Israel were all eating dinner together last night and we all said how interesting and cool it is that 60 years later we from all nations involved can eat and share great times together. With no worries. I liked it.

Small, weird world. Chris, Maarten, and I's moms all teach special education. We all have a dad who was in the medical world of the armed forces. We all have one sibling. We all are cool as hell, and we all love to rip and tease angelika. Fun, Fun times. We can perfect a day of doing nothing. I mean its everything i thought it could be. aside from water fights, my daily run and routine and eating as many meals as possible, swim and talk and read, we do nothing. It's wonderful. We have made an art of eating and naming meals. It's a competition of sorts. Or just a standard. The bar is set high. We hang out with the girls who own the place. Great times. Our last day/night will be epic.

Last night they took us to a club that played thai metal. Was good stuff. The singer of one of the bands was amazing. She was the most beautiful Thai girl. She got up there and could head bang to the riffs. Chris and i fell in love. My new Iron Maiden shirt was flowin for the occasion.

Well. Scott. That one spot you can find has been found for me. I came back here after some time in the north. I skipped the south. Baking in the sun and getting drunk every night at twice the cost as here didn't seem like my ticket so i skipped it. The south pacific is the place for beaches. Screw the crowds, development, pollution that plague these. Fellow travellers filled me in and showed the pics.
I love this spot. I have made friends and we spend our time with the locals. It has been great. Just a few days left.

Next time we talk i will be in Mongolia. And a 70 degree difference in temperature. I need to buy a coat when i get there.

I have enjoyed my time here. Very good. I could stay and teach english starting tomorrow but maybe in the future. I must roll on. The unknown awaits. Then Russia soon.

I hope you are doing very well

Love Jonathan










Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb