So Far


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 18th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My first real chance to stop at an internet cafe without Phuong.. Has been great seeing her, but getting a bit of cabin fever and starting to get on each others nerves. All good though. Was good to be back in Saigon, but only stayed a couple of days.. The hotel was right on Bui Vein St, which is in the heart of the madness so was hard to sleep.. Went out with one of her friends Vy vy to the pub and then dancing at Apocolypse Now one night which was fun. Phuongs Dad came to meet us on Sunday to pick up her motor bike, Phuong gave him the gifts I got them, he didnt really look tho, but hes like that. Phuong liked the clothes I bought her and they were all the right size too!

Arrived with a cold, was worried she thought I had swine flu, People round Vietnam kept looking everytime I was coughing and sniffing, there all paranoid about it.. They were checking people for it at one of the shopping centres we went to. Speant a day of flying to get to Phuket, Thailand. I think she enjoyed going on a plane for the first time.. but we always got the seats by the wing so she couldnt get good photos, not to mention my ears were stuffed for about 2 hours after the plane becuase of my cold :op ... Phuket was quiet as is monsoon season. The ride to pick us up from the airport didnt come, but they didnt charge my card. Then got to the hotel, there was no swimming pool like I thought and found out because I went through an agent it was 30 instead of 21. The nightlife in Patong is a laugh, lots of lady boys, hookers and aussies! We speant a couple of nights just checking out the drag shows and sitting in some of the bars around the place. Phuong is the best to go shopping with.. She said Thailand is like Vietnam but she has to speak English. shes really good at bargaining everything down. First night there, she got talking to some young locals to find where the real food places were.. So we were checking them out.. good cheap Thai food, better than the restaruant stuff... The first night we did eat at a restaurant was the place that gave me the food poisoning. Phuong looked beautiful that night, Stood out amongst all the trashy Thai girls.. although Thai people keep talking to her in Thai, thinking shes one. After the food poisoning speant the next day sleeping, vomiting and shitting haha.. Since it was raining heaps too decided not to go to Phi Phi island... So found a mini bus cheap to the airport and arrived in Bangkok.

GOt a taxi with some Israeli guys, I got talking to them about Krav Maga which is a Isralei martial art. Arrived in Kohsan Road, which is world famous.. Didnt come here last time,, should of, its awesome.. Lots of hippies and backpackers everywhere... cheap clothes (not as cheap as Nam tho), food, all the conterfeit stuff.. (including university degrees) (some real cool design tshirts too! none my size tho huhu) ..The areas basically a whole block.. people drinking on the side of the road, partying... its pretty cool! I dont know if Phuong likes it that much tho.. At first but she wants to see flash buildings and stuff, shes not really into the hippie side of travelling like I am... A bit of discovery between us about what we like and everything.. weve had a few arguments and disagreeemnts but also some growing as a couple which is good..

Woke up early and walked to the grand palace.. she found it a bit boring tho and it was so hot (you have to wear long pants in) was nearly collapsing so left.. Was getting a feed in a restaurant when two spanish guys came in and started intimidating these japanese girls... One of them looked at me and I realised she was nervous.. I looked around the restauranmt to see how many other guys were in there.. there was the old Japanese grandfather behind me and only the cook who was kinda big and he was also sussing out the situation, we made eye contact and gave a little nod and then I went back to watching the situation... Phuong didnt know what was going on. The cook came over and asked them to leave.. I was ready just in case but they left without any hassle... Is good knowing Wing Chun, teaches you to be aware and ready of trouble..

Luckily I got warned from a guy at the hotel about the scam artists around Bangkok trying to get you into their Tuk Tuk (taxi) - telling you the grand palace isnt open and to see something else with them.. Sure enough about 8 of them (who appeared as friendly guys just walking with you in the streets) tried telling us it was a Buddhist holiday and the temple was closed until 1.30pm .. all of them had the same story.. then would ask to look at our map and try to tell us where to go and what Tuk Tuks wouldnt rip us off - only 20 bhat (about 80cents) but I know what they do is take you to tailors and restaurants and all over the show before taking you anywhere... There was a big park with pigeons all over it and would fly around you as you walk through.. I took a photo of Phuong and some women came running up trying to giver her bird feed, she wouldnt take it,, a women gave some to me, and I wouldnt take it then she put some in my hand loose and I said no and threw it on the ground, then when we tried leaving they tried to get some money off us... i said "NO!, I TOLD YOU NO! AND YOU GAVE IT TO ME ANYWAY' ...

Im already over Thailand... Its not like I remember it.. Its way too commercial, everyone wants a buck off you, its more expensive than Vietnam, Cant relax, Its just got a different feel than Vietnam.. In my opinion under the obviouos Asian similarites its completely different! I cant wait to get back to Nam.. We tried to change our tickets but is expensive to change, and cause we've been so concious about money, we havent done any tours yet, so decided tomorrow we are going on an all day tour to the floating markets and tiger temple (which Ive seen already) but am hoping Phuong will have some fun, because shes been wanting to go home. I want to go see some Thai Boxing but is expensive and I think shell get bored huhu.. Walking some back streets today ended up in a dead end ally and found a boxing gym, watched the guys training a bit - was cool.. Phuong said maybe if we go back early to Vietnam we can book a tour to Cambodia.. But shes talking about a $200 usd tour each.. I dont want to pay that much, and she doesnt want to do it backpacker style. I dont know when I'll see the temples.. I heard after xmas there putting barriers around them so people cant climb them anymore - want to go before that happens huhuhu..

Dont know when Ill get another chance to update the blog, maybe when Im back in Nam, although due to me and Phuongs cabin fever, I want to try and get some time to myself each day, I think she wants to go shopping by herself, because she looks at my face and sees im bored and then she gets upset and doesnt want to do it.. So maybe then I can come back to an internet cafe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb