Bangkok ... the world really is your Oyster!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
April 8th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Soooooo here we are in Chiang Mai.... and after 4 hours of drinking the CHEAPEST cocktails you can imagine I have made my escape to an internet cafe to sober up and left Amelia in the good care of some cute Swedish boy! Man that girl knows how to work it... to be that age again :-(

Where do I start?! You see the most bizarre things in Thailand.. which is where you get the phrase "Only in Thailand"... I find myself saying that ALOT!! LOL.... On day 1 we saw a couple of weird things (forgot to mention them in the last blog!)

First we were driving along in our tuk tuk where we both noticed a guy squatting on the footpath.. now for those that have been to Thailand you will know this is not an unusual sight... most Thai's will squat to sit... but as we went past him we almost died... he had his penis out the side of his shorts taking a leak! Hilarious... I thought I was the only one that saw it and looked away in shock... as soon as I turned and saw Amelia's face I knew I wasnt the only one looking to the right! So funny.. we didnt stop laughing for about 15 minutes....

About half an hour later we were still in the same tuk tuk when Amelia grabbed my arm... she had just seen some random guy standing at the side of the road with a semi automatic handgun.. waving it around... thank god I didnt see that one! LOL

Touring With Jerry



Day 2 started bright and early at 6.30am meeting up with a group of people that I had met on the internet. I had a day booked with Jerry who works for My Friend Tong ... I decided it would be more fun if we had others join us so advertised on a website called TripAdvisor for people to join us.. in the end we had Maura from USA, Grace & Mike from the Phillipines and Renata from Brazil.. we all met at 6.30am at our hotel and then when Jerry arrived at 7am we left... first stop on the tour was the floating markets... having already been there twice I was excited to get back for the food... so much great 'street food' sold from boats... From memory we ate fried
The Clam GuyThe Clam GuyThe Clam Guy

This guy sits in the water for hours on end collecting clams with his hands!
bananas, pork noodle soup, coconut cakes (mini ones), marinated chicken wings & coconut sugar lollies. We got to see the official market area, then we went to the residential klongs for a look before heading to a coconut sugar farm.

After eating and touring the markets Amelia encountered her first squat toilet and took it in her stride.. I was very impressed... From there we headed to the Fisherman Village.. this is a place I went back in 2006 and it was great to get back and see Reid the fisherman who we had toured with back then! He was very excited to see me, and impressed with my thai language skills... (AS was I!!)

Fisherman Village



We headed out to sea where we toured the oyster and clam farming areas, then we headed to a mangroves area to feed the wild monkeys.... I was much braver than the last time here although my banana throwing skills left much to be desired.. I think a few people on the boat thought I had it in for them when the banana's went astray and landed on their heads and not out in the water! Oops!!! Trent
Our tour group for the dayOur tour group for the dayOur tour group for the day

Grace, Mike, Maura and Renata... Amelia and Me!
definitely doesnt get his ball skills from me!!

After feeding the monkeys we went to Reid's little house that is located on stilts abouve the water for a seafood lunch... the food was amazing! So yummy... we had deep fried fish in shrimp paste, fresh prawns, sweet and sour thai soup with prawns and sea grass, fresh crab and fresh lychees (my new favourite fruit!).

We left the fisherman village relaxed and full of amazing food... Reid was fantastic.. doesnt speak a word of English but somehow was able to communicate with me through stilted Thai and sign language... I promised I would be back for an overnight tour (where you get to go skiing on mud flats!)...

From the Fisherman Village we went to the Railway Market... this is where people sell their food on train lines.. and when the train comes through they all move their goods from the tracks... 16 times a day!! LOL Very funny!

Completely stuffed we headed home.... we went to an internet cafe to do the last blog and as I finished we encountered a freak storm.. we dashed across the road to a cafe and had a couple of beers while we waited for the rain to stop... even the restaurant was flooding it was that bad!!

Once it finished we went for an oil massage.. it was so funny ... we were a little pissy from the beer and they gave us towels and showed us to a small room to change ... we had no idea how much clothing to take off but ended up in our gstrings!! Halfway through our massage I could hear Amelias massuer speaking to her... she later told me that my massuer was a boy (WTF?!) and thought she was cute! LOL...

Amelia wants to marry a tuk tuk driver



Later that night we decided to head to Patpong.. having already seen a sex show I wasnt fussed, but it was on Amelia's must do list so off we went.. we called Am Noi... a tuk tuk driver we had be-friended on our first night and he took us to Patpong.... somehow he ended up taking us to the SAME club I ended up at last year.. after some hard negotiating we got in for 400 baht and a free drink included... and I got lucky.. this year they had 'new' acts in their show.... not only did I get to see the live sex show, the candles, the ping pong balls (deliberately shot at us!!), the darts, the 'welcome to Bangkok' and the cigarette show, but I also got to see the body painting show, the shower sex show and a couple of others!

After a round of sex acts, we headed back to Khao San Rd with Am Noi..... he was soo cute and Amelia was discussing the logistics of moving to Thailand to marry a tuk tuk driver! Hehehehehe! Once back at Khao San we went for a wander and found a banana pancake stall (different to the normal one)... we had nutella and banana pancakes before buying some tshirts and then we did something that we would both regret....

We found a Papaya Salad stall.... and told them MEDIUM spicy! Big mistake.... I was drunk and let me tell you, that salad was so hot I would hate to have been sober... I downed 2 litres of water and a bag of watermelon within 10 minutes and STILL had tears streaming down my face!! BUT hell it was good!!!!
Railway MarketsRailway MarketsRailway Markets

Move your goods.. here comes the train!

After the Papaya Salad we headed back to the guesthouse and went to bed.. by this time it was 12am and we had to be up at 7am to get ready for a walking tour of Bangkok with my friend Nok....

Anyway that is another blog... so I will leave it at that, upload some photos and hope that anyone reading this is still awake!!

Love to you all,
Reet and Milly xxxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



9th April 2009

lovin the pics.....
Fishermans village sounds great... havent been there before...and slightly dissappointed to see you didnt try the bbq'd frogs at the railway market!! lol ohhh the sex shows... never have been able to look at goldfish and tiny turtles the same way as I used too... :)
9th April 2009

Monkey revenge????
Hi Reet Entertaining as usual, I secretly know you were aiming the bananas at the monkeys for revenge from 2006. I wonder how many broken hearted Tuk Tuk drivers there will be in Bangkok once Amelia leaves? Happy Easter. Lee xx
9th April 2009

Love your blog
Ahh love your trip reports. Did the floating markets a couple of years ago with my teenage son and the lovely Tong. Happy memories my lad asked Tong if we could go round again just for the food!! Looking forward to hearing more of your travels xx Wendy, Manchester UK
10th April 2009

Reet, you are such a wooonderful writer! I am living vicariously through your blogs waiting for my own return to this wonderful country... please don't forget the name/address of that "ping-pong" show (it's on my list, too, and I hope to learn from you the specifics :) stay safe and have fun!!
10th April 2009

jerry rocks
Jerry is cool - I've just eaten a full roast dinner and somehow find myself hungry with your great food descriptions. Sign me up for your next trip - Matt says I have to find girlfriends to go with next time as he can't keep up with me!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb