oir revouire bangkok hello Kanchanaburi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

so here i am in an internet cafe after a really fabulous da. I arrrived in Kanchanaburi (which is on the River Kwai) after a very pleasant 2 hour local bus jouney. I was met by a nice tuk tuk driver "where you go madam ?" i said i hadnt decided yet so he said he'd take me to several places to choose and true to his word he "tuk" me ! and i chose the third one.

Its a tiny little wooden hut thats on stilts over the River Kwai and its very basic - fan, COLD shower, and non flushing toilet !!! Hey i'm a true traveller and loving it 😊 there is a hole in the corner of the floor where the water drains out straight into the river, and you flush the loo by pouring water down it .... not too sure whether it goes straight into the river or not, but i suppose it does !...... but after talking to a couple of longterm travellers they were made up with the accomodation. Ive only booked for one night so if i dont like it i'll move tomorrow.

I hired a bicycle for the day and rode all around the town (its very flat) about 4miles square, anyway found the JEATH museum that is dedicated to all the men that died building the railway over the river, it was a very moving experience and i felt so sorry for those poor men........ had a cry for them

then i went to the war cemetary for the allied service men which again was very sobering and humbling, especially when I saw graves of men younger than joanne the graves are all tended by people all dressed in suitable Thai attire hoeing and weeding away.

Then i went to a temple and lit a candle for my dad, and then stumbled accross a monk who said hello and i got talking to him, he spoke good english, and asked where i came from etc, told him Liverpool and he got really excited saying that Liverpool FC were his team !!!! so there i was in Thailand talking to a monk about Steven Gerard !!!! life is full of surprises

then i cycled back throught town checking out a few more guesthouses and ive got one lined up if i dont like tonights experience.

I then had a surprisingly refreshing and pleasant cold shower, and went to read beside the river on a wooden swing and got talking to a couple from Canada who were a good laugh.

Obvioulsy im very sorry to hear its raining in Exmuff,
thanks for the messages again it makes me 😊
love form me xxxxxxxx




Advertisement



1st February 2009

That's the spirit!
Well done girl ..you sound like you are really in the swing of it..have you fallen in love with the lovely gentle people? did you get a massage yet? keep living the dream ...lol xxx
1st February 2009

i've only just found your messages!! grrr
aaah I'm kicking myself....Here I've been saying to Nick 'I wish mum would hurry up and put something n her blog'....and all I had to do was clck on ''next message''! duh! You know me and technology!! Anyway....it looks amazing!!!! I'm so proud of you talking to travellers and getting in with the locals!! The food sounds great and pics are amazing. Everything is good here, vicki has just text me and she's fine, I'll ring her tonight aswell. It's flippin freezing here.... you are one lucky lady!! That's so funny about the guy supporting Liverpool heehee. keep on enjoying your adventure, I'm going to check out your pics again!! love you xxx
2nd February 2009

Crikey karen slow down!! I cant keep up with all your adventures!! Just logged on expecting to see a message of some sort and you've written a book!!. Even got george hooked on it!! He cant beleive you didnt have a flushing toilet!! ( this from a boy who wants to join the mrines?? lol he has a lot to learn!!)t and just loved the steven gerad story!! How funny!. Havent been able to see phots yet cos they are not coming up on my computer- but will have a look at work tomorrow!!. Hope you continue to have such a fab time!. x miss you! x

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb