Back to Thailand and then home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
April 1st 2008
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tickle the tigerTickle the tigerTickle the tiger

I have heaps of people (volunteers) if anything untoward was to happen if I tickled him in the wrong place
Back to Thailand and Pattaya. I decided to take a two day trip to the River Kwai. Mainly, I wanted to go to a tiger sanctuary run by monks for their preservation. It was a very early start. I was to be picked up at 5am, but the bus got lost, so I was sitting on the front step until 20 past 6, oh I could have done with the extra sleep! It was a stinker of a hot day, over 40 degrees and a poor airconditioner in the bus meant that the water consumption was high. On this trip, there was me (the aussie), an English guy, two Norwegian, two Finnish, one French policeman and his Thai girlfriend and the driver.

We arrived at the town of Kanchanaburi, and went to a restaurant called the happy frog to have our hostess announce that the temperature was over 40 degrees, and in a pretty hot spot, we had a beautiful lunch of a variety of local Thai food and oodles of water and beer. After lunch we all split up in different directions. I was the only one game enough to go visit the tiger temple. Wat Pa Luangia Bua
A close upA close upA close up

This is as close as I could get to the baby!
Yannasampanno forest monastery was established in 1994 as a wildlife sanctuary, starting with chooks then boars, then all sorts of animals were brought by nearby villagers, then in 1999 the first tiger (an Indochinese tiger and as it is close to the Burma - Thai border and the tigers have been poached for US$5800, so a safe place was needed. The monastery became a refuge and in 2003 the monastery constructed a large open enclosure for the tigers. The numbers continue to grow and a breeding program is now in place. You can sit with, pat, have your photo taken, then you are caged as the tigers are walked around the compound to the waterfall and pool for a cooling off. It was great to get up close and personal with both big and little tigers. After this, it was off to the allied war cemetery. This cemetery is a memorial to the POW’s who died while building the railway. More than 100,000 died and from looking at the ages; the average was around 22, what a waste of young men. Then the bridge over the river Kwai, a must for historians and railway buffs and a trip on the
Entrance to the LostEntrance to the LostEntrance to the Lost

So young, so many were lost to their families
train is essential. As dusk fell, it was time to check into our hotel, a tired and rundown hotel with rooms on the river itself. These are floating pontoons with around six rooms to a pontoon.

What is it with me and wildlife? This time a HUGE spider was in the bathroom. The Finnish boy said ‘no worries, I get him’ until he saw the size of it, then he used a four letter expletive beginning with F (even the Fins say it!). Fortunately, it disappeared down the drain hole. I have finally found a use for unused ashtrays; they fit perfectly over the drain holes to keep spiders and cockroaches out!

The next morning it was off to the Kerewan waterfalls. These were beautiful falls over 7 levels. I decided that level 4 was enough; it became very treacherous and slippery after this. I descended to level 3 and went for a swim, only to yip and yelp as the fishes nibbled my various body parts. It is a cleansing idea as the fish only nibble off the dead skin cells, but it was quite unnerving. As I was the only target in the pool, I hotfooted
The famous or infamous bridgeThe famous or infamous bridgeThe famous or infamous bridge

Although this is "the bridge on the river Kwai' it has been replaced a couple of times
it down to level two where there was more flesh to choose from. I swam under the waterfall - cool! As we left the waterfall, the air conditioner in the minivan degassed itself and stopped working altogether, boy it was HOT! Then off to the train for our journey down the mountain. I put my head out the window and almost lost my sunnies, but caught them in time. On our way back, we switched buses with another tour group going on to the falls with a working air conditioner (although still very hot). We hit traffic jam, after traffic jam as Sunday is the Thai day out! Finally home at 8pm to find Nitya’s friend’s wife had had a baby. Much celebration in the community (plenty of alcohol). The neighbors also wanted to say goodbye, so had brought food (crabs, oysters, prawns calamari, etc). A feast! Then to bed, a trip almost over, and still not enough seen. Sue and I packed and repacked and finally left at 11.30. We called into Woot’s house to celebrate and see the new baby. He was such a cutie. Mum had a caesarian three days ago and was home getting the party underway with all the relatives. Boy they do it tough. On our arrival in Bangkok, I was on a mission to find Jyes (granddaughter) a watch. Found a market, couldn’t choose, and so bought two. On the way back to have pedicure, I noticed that there were stones missing on one, so took it back, and had great trouble choosing a replacement. It was out of three, the woman then said as I was the first buyer of the day, I should take them all (free) as good luck for her (maybe my last price was too high!) Then a pedicure, manicure, a beer and taxi to the airport. Home is not too far away, and already I am planning the next trip!

On reflection, the things that have jumped out at me are:

Elders are respected. Transport (of any kind) drivers are always on the con. Big and white is prosperous and seen as good. A little of speaking both Thai and Vietnamese is applauded. Communism in Vietnam is highly commercial! The things most commented on about Sue and I was Sue’s hair color and most noticed were my sandals (thanks Kimberley). They are very cute and very good to walk in and recommended by my friend the chiropractor. (photos f last two to come, have arrived home and will have a sleep before I try uploading


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

On the trainOn the train
On the train

the lunch trolley (or bucket)
The trainThe train
The train

As the train comes across the bridge, you are expected to step aside


Tot: 1.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb