Last two days in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dog!Dog!Dog!

This is a little fellow that has adopted us. This photo was after a little makover of shower and brush!
last night Sue and I updated our blogs at the internet game shop around the corner from Nitya's. It is used exclusively by young Thai boys to play games. Really noisy and dark, I am sure they are quite confused at two foreign old ladies on computer. We certainly stood out in the crowd. We were trying to find flights and a hotel to Saigon. The flights were no problem but we still have to pick up the tickets at a travel agent as we have to produce our passports. Finding a hotel in Saigon has proved not to be so easy. We may just have to turn up and find somewhere to stay when we get,

There are lots of street sellers who come down all the suburban streets each day . This is a picture of a man selling vegetables, fish and meat outside Nittaya's. She bought the makings for our tea. At the same time a “bag lady” was in the street. Not such an unususal sight in any city now, but this lady had her mobile phone with her and it rang 3 times in the few minutes she was here.
Now that's progress!!!!!
street sellerstreet sellerstreet seller

This is the local vegie and meat man

The last two days have been feasts of food and meeting family. We have tried many varieties of Thai food most of which has been cooked for us by Nitya. She also insists on washing all our things. Boy, most of you would think I was bossy, but she leaves me for dead. I know that by the time she has washed in three loads of fresh water, rinsed twice and softened once, it is definitely labour intensive and no way would I ever take that role on, thank god for washing machines.

today is our last day here and then on to Saigon or Ho Chi Mhin city as it is now called. Today was spent at a tropical botanical garden called Nong Nooch. I had tried to get the idea across to Nitya that we wanted to go to a tiger temple, where monks look after them and you can walk with them, but the language barrier was too difficult, so we ended up in a type of botanical theme park and did the obligitory pose for photo's and elephant rides. I did however get to sit with a tiger. Apart from this is was a beautiful
Bag ladyBag ladyBag lady

the local cleaner with mobile!
place with so many different palms and garden types, that my gardening friends would love to have been there. There were many different topiary arrangements, bonsai and formal gardens. After this we went to the largest temple in the area and on to Jomtien Beach to see the sights. It was sooooo hot that Sue and I nearly expired, in fact she came in the door at home and was on the bed and asleep in less than a minute. I just keep pouring cold water over me in the shower room.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

me and my palme and my pal
me and my pal

Talk about captive!
Packing on the PachedermPacking on the Pachederm
Packing on the Pachederm

(not sure of the spelling and no dictionary)
from the top templefrom the top temple
from the top temple

The formal european gardens
more gardensmore gardens
more gardens

this is for those who are more gardeners than I am


Tot: 0.417s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb