Want me to Smell your ear and see if it smells like Dead??


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Phi Phi LeyPhi Phi LeyPhi Phi Ley

On the boat coming up to Maya Bay... Some very very nice germans befriended us on the boat and took our pic. Hear that NICE germans!!!
Ya, you heard me. I said it.

Ash is having some main issues with her ear since we left Koh Tao. I keep telling her to see a doctor but she refuses, yet complains almost incesantly about it. Since she has previous experience in "earbugs", I asked if she wanted me to see if it smells like dead.

Makes sense, no?

So it's been a couple days since I updated last... I didn't get any nasty emails wondering where the next one was though so I guess they're not as hot a commodity as I once thought.

I'm sitting in a cafe currently called "Flip Flop" on the island of Koh Lanta just south of Phuket. They're showing the newest Kevin Costner/ Ashton Kutcher flick on the "big screen"... Can't remember what its called, but its some water rescue something or another. If we didn't walk iin a quarter of the way in, I might wanna watch it. Looks fairly good.

Onto the good stuff, shall we?

So we left Koh Tao on... hmmm... Hell, what day is it today? Sunday. Ok... so we left Tao... 16th... what day was that? Tuesday. You have no idea how difficult it is to keep track of days when you have absolutely NOTHING to do!

Ok. So Tuesday it was... we were excited about doing some diving over on the opposite coast, and thought that we were in for a good time.

WRONG!

Everything that could have gone wrong on this journey did.

Ok, so first things first... The night boat.

We had heard about this night boat before, but of course thought that travel at night was always the best choice. You go somewhere at the same time as you sleep so you're basically killing 2 birds with one stone. You've got your accommodations taken care of as well as your travel. Perfect.

We had been forewarned by our new (cute) neighbours about this boat. The "Slave Boat" as they lovingly referred to it. We didn't believe him. Every story he told us, like not sleeping with our mouths open so as not to get cockroaches in the mouth, we laughed at. Haha Stephane. You're a funny guy. Obviously it can't be THAT bad.

WRONG!

I shit you not, I went back in time to the days of slaves and took a boat for 8... Count em... 8 hours from Koh Tao to Surat Thani.

Ashley shut herself down because she couldn't handle it. I think she might have been a princess in another life, or forgot that she's a backpacker now. I'm not saying that I enjoyed the ride. Cause I really didn't. It was cramped, and stuffy, and dirty, and I did wonder if when I slept cockroaches were crawling in my mouth. But fortunately I can deal with pressure and uncomfort much better than her because I had to hold it together for the both of us. I laughed. I really did. I realized that we had gotten ourselves into something extremely extremely out of our comfort zones, but we were there now and we had to make do.

Ash wouldn't even speak.

She fell asleep, thank god for her, and slept most of the night. That day was our first encounter with squat toilets as well. Ashely walked into one at a restaurant we were at waiting for the boat, and walked right back out. We had to go to another restaurant that we knew had a regular toilet so that she could go. I'm certainly glad she went before we got on that boat, cause I don't know if anything could have been much worse than that one. I had to go twice that night. Brutal.

So finally we arrive into Surat Thani and get taxied over to the travel agency where we need to transfer to our bus to Krabi, where we'll take a ferry over to Koh Lanta.

It's 5:30 am... I personally haven't showered since the night before the morning we checked out (so it's been almost a full day and a half for me... can you IMAGINE?!) and now we have to wait for an hour for our bus.

They put us on a public bus that takes 4 hours from Surat Thani on one coast to Krabi on the other. This is a trip that should have taken us 2 hrs... maybe less?? Needless to say, the BOTH of us are PISSED right off.

So we get to krabi and now have missed our Lanta transfer and need to wait for ANOTHER taxi to take us there.

Needless to say, we finally got to our bungalow at 3pm after leaving Tao
How can you love it here?How can you love it here?How can you love it here?

It's just so stressful looking...
at 9pm the night before.

Remember the black mood that the both of us are in.

We hate it.

First thing, they give us a room with one bed.

No No No.

2 of us. 2 beds.

So we get upgraded, to a room with A/C AND HOT water... haven't had hot water in god only knows how long... well, since bangkok I guess... Anyways... we still hated it. we've never encountered unfriendly people in Thailand. We've never really felt uneasy (except maybe for big bill big luck... oh, and maybe when "Boy" wanted to sleep with us...) but this place was beyond uncomfort.

I should explain before I go further that Koh Lanta has a large Muslim population. I haven't come across many muslims in my life, but I do know that they're religion is very... hmm... how to put it... Limited. They aren't allowed to really do anything... no drinking, no smoking. No nothing basically. I think theyre also not allowed to smile. I didn't see one of them smile for the entire 2 days that we were there. It was hell on earth to say the least. So the day
Night BoatNight BoatNight Boat

When we first got on...
after we got there, we started looking for alternate accommodations. We went to a travel agency and found a new place called Mook Lanta Resorts. We had to finish our 2nd night at the first place, New Beach but were extremely happy when we arrived at Mook just up the street. The people are friendly. They're buddhist. I like Buddhism more and more every day. It's so carefree and loving and accepting. Much to the contrary of the Muslim faith.

It's cold water, and fan. But at 100b cheaper/ night, we were happy with it.

Chief Chyarming over here has already won most peeps over. Duh.

So the first day we didn't do much. Hung around and booked another night. We knew we wanted to get on a day trip at least to Phi Phi while we were here.

The second day we went for breakfast and then layed on the beach for a bit. I started to crisp so I headed back to the bungalow to read my new trashy romance novel. I just LOVE my trash.

We also booked our way outta here for tomorrow to Koh Samui and booked a day trip
Night BoatNight BoatNight Boat

This is what it looked like when we left. Bottom left, womans ass that was shoved in Ashley's back all night... She called her "the mail order bride" cause of the man's age and her age.
to Phi Phi for today.

Phi Phi was BEAUTIFUL! I can't wait to get back here when Dee gets here. We won't stay in Lanta though, that's for damn sure!

We snorkeled in Maya Bay (the place where the movie with Leo Dicaprio, The Beach, was filmed) and we saw a Moray Eel! Hear that Daddy! AN EEL! It was sooo soo cool. It was great. We hadn't been snorkelling yet. We keep meaning to buy the gear but somehow we seem to think that we have no room for it. Turns out we basically don't. haha After that we went to another beach called "Monkey Beach". Can you guess why it's called Monkey? Ya. There's monkies there. Our boat was too big to get in to the beach, so I couldn't get a good pic, but we snorkelled over and saw the monkies eating out of peeps hands. I didn't get my rabies shots, so I kept my distance. Neat none the less.

Now, if I thought I was crispy yesterday, it will never compare to the pain and agony I'm in right now. I'm actually about to die. No joke. My back is gonna peel
Maya BayMaya BayMaya Bay

The main beach in Maya
itself off shortly and I'm gonna be a raw chicken. Its the most pain I've ever felt because of a sunburn. EVER!

And that brings us to dinner tonight. We had a craving for pizza (the pizza here is SOOO GOOD!) so we were heading up the street to find something. We saw a restaurant that said pizza so we went in. We looked at the menu and it was much more expensive than anywhere we'd been, but the two of us feeling hot as hell didn't wanna get up and keep walking. So we decided on chicken with roasted potatoes.

WOW
WOW
WOW

We both had the same thing and couldn't believe our eyes. It was a feast. 3 breasts with GRAVY and roasted potatoes and vegetables. It was phenomenal. I can't even explain how good it was.

We paid out the nose for it, but decided after a long day it was well worth a great meal.

And here we are. Sitting in a cafe with a good movie in the background, on WIFI internet on a personal laptop with a chocolate shake and a smoke(Em! They have deep fried Icecream here! Wish
Maya BayMaya BayMaya Bay

One of the beaches on Maya...
I had room for it after that HHUUUGGGEEEE dinner!).

Can I just take this time to mention how much we smoke here????

Honestly, I'm not gonna tell you, cause you would think that we're asking for cancer. It's a chain smoke, though. Seriously. It's brutal.

I smell weed........... How weird that somebody's smokin a spliff while I'm talking about smoking?

So... That's all I've got for now.

Hope everyone back home is doing well.

We head to Koh Samui tomorrow morning and are taking the day route. We should be there by 4pm. Lets hope.

Me ruv
Me ruv

~Chief Chyarming Blackfoot



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Wish my bungalow was in here...Wish my bungalow was in here...
Wish my bungalow was in here...

I think they said something about James Bond... I dunno... I can't always understand the Thais...
Monkey BeachMonkey Beach
Monkey Beach

I don't think you can see any monkies here, but they're there! We saw a mama carryin her bubba under her... really cute.
Before my Crispy SkinBefore my Crispy Skin
Before my Crispy Skin

You should see me NOW! We're both Jiggaboos!
HammocksHammocks
Hammocks

We got back to the bungalow and we had a hammock. Ash felt the need to take a pic of herself in it.
It rainedIt rained
It rained

Rained the whole first day at the new bungalow. It was a DOWNPOUR!
Ash Gettin her Tattie DoneAsh Gettin her Tattie Done
Ash Gettin her Tattie Done

Don't worry G&P, I made sure it was clean... Note the gloves...
Final ProductFinal Product
Final Product

It's the best one she has. We both love it so much. The bamboo technique is great, and she didn't look like she was in any pain whatsoever... Got me to thinking..........
Lin, Lookit these teeth!!Lin, Lookit these teeth!!
Lin, Lookit these teeth!!

Like my new purse too??


22nd January 2007

Love the tattoo Ash
Hey Ladies so nice to hear from you.Sucks about ur ear go to the Docs..You gals look really cute,glad to hear they have chicken hahaha,love it..Take more pics there awsome...Have fun be safe write soon...
23rd January 2007

Deep fried ice cream???
LOL.. Nice Tatty Ash! I love it... it's so you. Just got off the phone with you ladies. Love the pics Yey....keep em coming. I love how you both enjoy the night boat lol. Awww.... I'll write an e-mail to you both today of tomorrow. Sounds like your having a blast... as expected. Love you both. Stay safe! muah! xoxo ~ L
24th January 2007

Sunscreen & Drugs are good!!
Hey Ladies!! Ash I love the Tat it's so pretty!!!! Glad you finally went to the Doc to get your ear checked out!! Daph it's a good thing you are there to protect Ashley!! Have fun!! Daph no more sunburns!!!!! Luv Kels
24th January 2007

no smoki pot
Well hi little girl's, nice to read all this stuff when I got back, great pic's, are you sure you don't want to come home early? I am still trying to make it over there to meet up, if I do I will bring Cory with me, we can get him to take the diving course as well. I don't think I can dive any more, I might get mistaken for a whale and get harpooned then eaten by the locals...they eat every thing over there! ask about the deep sea fishing in that area, it will be hard to beat my last day of fishing in Cabo last week, 8 marlins, 1 sail fin and 3 mahi mahi, beat that baby, we parents can have fun to. :) be safe baby's and don't do any thing I would do over there! Love you Dad
26th January 2007

Take a Look!
http://ashandtrevorinthailand.blogspot.com/
27th January 2007

Tanned Mofo's
Hey girls...who look whos tanned!!! Not fair!!! Nice tattie ash...ive always wanted to get that kind of tatoo done...like not with the needles!! Have fun girlies, and keep these a comin'! Me luv, me luv!
29th January 2007

deepfried ice cream!
yay for the deep fried ice cream! too bad you were too full, but the chicken and potatoes seem to make up for it. and i'm sure you'll come across more along the way. ps i felt like a celebrity when i saw my name in the blog! "what?! is she talking to me?! yes yes i think she is." :). Glad you guys are having fun amongst awkwardness of night boat. loving hearing about your adventures. have more of the fun!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb