Kanchanaburi Day Tour


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
June 5th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So since my family was finsished with the beach we decided to give them one day of inland adventure. Emily arranged a nice day trip to Kanchanaburi where Rachel and I spent a week last year. We started out at the Erawan Waterfalls, which is one of the most spectacular places (of where I've been) in the world. It is in the jungle and once you arrive it is like something from a movie. These crystal clear pools form after fall after fall with lots of fish swimming around. There are 7 major pools but the whole thing is stunning b/c there are so many stops in the river. Last year we spent a lot of time taking pictures and swimming but didn't make it to all the stops. So this time I ditched my family and ran up to the 6th and 7th falls so I could see/take pics there. Well I got there and was mostly alone, and then saw this branch moving, so natuarally went to investigate. Well it turned out to be a bunch of baby macaque monkies and one adult. After a bit of watching from afar I went in closer and as soon as I had come up to the level where they were all playing the big one and a friend came to investigate ME! So they came up really close, their cheeks were bursting from all the little berry things they had shoved in there. And they just sat and posed for a bit chomping away at their berries not caring at all unless my flash got too bright. Well after a few minutes they got restless and started after me; and I knowing that they can become aggressive and steal things (like my precious camera) started down the hill as fast as I could without slipping and killing myself (well mostly my precious camera). But then 2 american guys came up behind me to take pictures with the monkies and to my embarrassment the monkies just kinda stood there and reached to the other guys hand for food. So luckily they were in a friendly mood, even though if they attacked it would have made a better story. I then noticed the time... 11:40 and our bus was leaving at 12. Yeah I was still at the top waterfall at least 40 away from the parking lot... and basically screwed. So I ran down as fast as I could, clutching my huge bag with all my camera gear and other nick-nacks. As I got the the last pool (which was really the first) I decided that I was too hot and sweaty for a long bus ride so I dropped everything and jumped in for a quick and refreshing swim and them ran again to the parking lot and made it there by 12:05.

We then drove over the the elephant camp and had a nice (though short) ride around with everyone paired up on their own elephant. What a site that was, all 10 of my family riding around the jungle on elephants, it was awesome. Then we fed them some bananas and and they served us lunch on the river that we would soon be bamboo rafting down. We had a 10 minute ride down the river and then a long ride back to town where the tiger temple was. I was very excited, seeing as this was the highlight of my trip last year. We got there amongst a large crowd of people and made our way to the quarry where they have the tigers. It was very
Rach and Me Rach and Me Rach and Me

Our elephant was 40 years old
crowded and there were a few changes from last year, a few trees planted for shade, a lot of white volunteers (there was only one last year) and it was a lot more commercial. Well regardless of all that I was still happy to make my way to the front of the line and enter to visit a few of the majestic beasts. I didn't get much time with them since they were so busy but it was just as magical as last year. Sitting with these HUGE creatures that could rip my face off in moments but were as friendly (and lazy) as house cats. We unfortunately had to leave them and made our way back to the bus for a long and tiring journey to Bangkok.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



14th June 2006

MADDY!
Madison-- Wow! What an adventure you'e having! I'M SO JEALOUS!! hahaha and I loved your monkey story, I can totally picture everything! You're so freakin cute and I miss you and I'm so glad you're having such a great time! Love you, Maddy

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb