Monkeys, Waterfalls, and a New Friend!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=ij4rleaAQMQ]

Excitement in Kanchanaburi



Hi again everybody! I’ve sure had a lot of fun in Kanchanaburi. We stayed at a place called the Jolly Frog, and one night we even saw a frog jumping across the ground while we were eating dinner in the lobby. Jolly Frog is right! At night we could see little lizards all over the ceilings and walls outside. The first night there, we saw a praying mantis on the railing. He was so cool! They were waiting by the lights to catch the bugs because bugs are attracted to lights. The food was really good, and since it was cheap, we decided to eat here a lot. I felt kind of bad for Nate though. I’m a monkey, so I’m used to the bugs, but Nate had a cockroach crawl onto his foot and up his leg one night! Jessie was so scared I thought she was going to jump right onto the table! I was laughing so hard! Just wait till you see the bathroom we used. You had to flush the toilet but dumping water in yourself. Isn’t that crazy? Being a monkey sure has its advantages. I just go up a tree instead.

My favorite thing we did here was when we went to Erawan Falls, which is a park filled with waterfalls and natural pools you can swim in. You’re not going to believe it, but I even saw some of my cousins in the trees! Yep, monkeys all over the place. One of them I didn’t know was naughty. He actually jumped from the tree and onto the ground, then grabbed a bag of chips away from a family who was trying to have a snack. Naughty monkey! After we watched other monkeys for a little bit, we started to hike up to see all the waterfalls. They were amazing! Jessie took some really good pictures of me. Do you think I could be a model for a zoo? I’m just teasing. I felt right at home when I was playing in the trees while Nate and Jessie were taking a break. I think the best part of the day was when I met a new friend. Her name is Fair and she was really nice to me. She was at the park with all of the girls she goes to school with. There weren’t any boys there from her school because it’s an all girls school, but you wouldn’t believe how many kids were there! There were so many I couldn’t even count them all, and they were having SO much fun swimming in the pools and under the waterfalls. Since I love kids so much, I was just loving it!

Kanchanaburi was a blast! I wonder if I’ll meet any other monkeys along the way. At least I met a new friend! Now we’re headed to a place called Sukhothai. We’re going to see some really neat ruins, and I’ll make sure Nate and Jessie take some pictures of us there. I hope everyone is having fun reading my blog and seeing my pictures! Bye everyone!

Wylie



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb