Warm weather and fun adventures in Bangkok, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 26th 2011
Published: January 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wylie made it to Bangkok, Thailand!



Well everybody, I made it to Bangkok and back to the warm weather! Thank goodness too because I didn’t bring anything warm with ME. At least Nate and Jessie had a jacket! When our plane landed in Bangkok, we had to get off the plane outside and onto a bus that took us to the airport to get our bags. It was a pretty long walk to get to a taxi that took us to our new home, so I sure was glad I got to ride in Nate’s backpack. Every step he takes is like 10 little monkey hops for me!

The next day Nate and Jessie decided to do some laundry. I wasn’t busy, so I decided to help them hang their clothes up in the room. There sure was a lot to see in Bangkok. We went to a place called Wat Pho and saw a reclining Buddha that was bigger than a 1,000 monkeys the size of me. I couldn’t even see over the feet! We don’t have a picture of me inside because I was sitting on Jessie’s head the whole time to get a better view. We also went to a really big market with lots and lots of cool things to buy. There wasn’t too much made for monkeys, but it was still fun! I bet you will all think the drying fish look really gross, but I promise, they SMELLED even worse than they look! PEEEEyuuuuu!

One day we went to Jim Thompson’s house, which has been turned into a museum. He was the one who introduced Thai silk to us. His house was really neat and full of all kinds of artifacts he collected from his travels. It was much nicer than my home in the trees! On our way back, we took a ride in a tuk-tuk. Make sure you see the picture of me! It was a lot of fun, but at one point our driver drove on the wrong side of the road. Whoa mister! Be careful! I promised my mommy I would get back to the jungle safe and sound!

The food here was deeeeelicious! Some of the meat looked a little too scary to try, so we ate mostly noodles and vegetables. I tried to use some chopsticks again, but I just can’t seem to get it right. Yeah, you guessed it, I asked for a fork instead. I WAS going to use my hands, but I didn’t want to be rude. We all got fruit shakes a couple times, too. Boy were they good! I wish they had blenders in the jungle! Can you believe on the last night Nate and Jessie ate a grasshopper?! Guess what? They convinced ME to try one, too! Nate held one up to my mouth…I carefully took a little bite…and, uuhhh yuuuuk!!! I couldn’t help it. I spit it out onto the ground! Let’s just say I won’t be trying a grasshopper again anytime soon. Would any of you tried one if you were here?

We did a lot of fun things in Bangkok, but we’re ready to get out of the city for a while. We’re headed to a town called Kanchanaburi, which is about 2 hours away. Keep a look out for my next post! See you soon!

Wylie



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb