Touring around Bangkok-Elephants, Bamboo rafts, cooking... good times


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
October 28th 2007
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sawatdeeka from Bangkok again and more specifically Khao San Road. I have just met my tour group for the next leg of my journey to Cambodia and Vietnam and they come from the US, Canada, Australia and Tasmania, UK, Sweden, Switzerland and they all seem pretty cool. I am definitely part of the younger crew but all is well.

For the last three days since I have been back in the Philippines, my cousin Jenny and I have been touring around Bangkok and out in the countryside. We went to a huge mall downtown called MBK and ate a lonely planet recommended restaurant called 5th Avenue.

Yesterday we took a tour to Kanchanaburi which is about 3 hours west of Bangkok. We took a bus there and went first to Kanchanaburi Cemetery and then to the River Kwai. This is where the Japanese forced the allied POWs to build the Death Railway linking Thailand and Burma. The goal was to build the railway in 2 years but it took less than 15 months. The conditions for these POWs was horrible and many died in the process. We went to an interesting museum set up inside of a POW camp building called JEATH. We then took a speed boat down the river to the River Kwai. We later hopped on a train that travelled on part of this Death Railway. It is a bumpy ride, but definitely not deadly. The locals ride it all the time and so it must be a disturbance that all these tourists were on it; but we had fun talking to some of the little kids. Lunch was served buffet style. In the afternoon we went to ride an elephant. Ours was 40 years old and we had a bit of a grumpy rider who led the elephant, but it was good times. Our elephant kept wanting to stop and eat!

After the elephant riding we took a bamboo raft down the river and got a personal ride. It was so comfortable. Then we headed to the Tiger Temple and got to pet some baby and adult size tigers. They weren't scary but quite entertaining.

Today, my last day in Bangkok for a while, we went to I think a province called Nakhon Prathon for a great day of adventure. In the morning we went to an open market where there was lots of fresh fruit-pumello, pineapple, bananas and watermelon and lots of fresh meat and fish too. Even pig's snout and feet. We also got to go to a floating market that Thailand is known for and took a boat ride down the river there.

Lunch was cooked by us at a woman's home. I cooked the Green Chicken curry, Jenny the Pad Thai and this other gentleman Tom Goo Yang soup with fresh prawns. We had a yummy lunch of those things plus rice and sweet and sour pork and morning glory vegetables.

On our way back we went to an orchid farm and saw how they grow and prepare them for planting in coconut shells. It was a fantastic day. jenny and I got our own private tour.

Sorry I can't post photos now. I have got to run. Early morning wake up for the bus ride to Cambodia.

Hope this email finds you all well.

love Katy

Advertisement



30th October 2007

ELEPHANTS!
Hey Katy, I'm loving your BLOG! It's awesome! Sooooo kooool with a K! Hope all is going well, it sounds like a trip of a lifetime! Wish I could be there! And hey, did I tell you? I just found out today that I got accepted to the Costa Rica trip! I can't wait to go on a plane! YAYYYY! Wishing you all the best, Ryan

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb