Songkran soaking


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Hua Hin
April 14th 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello... is anybody there?

Today's blog will have an educational leaning to it & less of the trivial drivel that I usually write. Just thought that I should warn you so that you can duck out now if you would rather watch some paint dry 😊

At the start of the week 4 of us left Khao Tao for Hua Hin; part excellent boat journey and part coach. As always when I leave somewhere it is with some sadness because there's comfort in what is familiar and a little angst about going somewhere different. So far there are no regrets as nowhere as disappointed me or been somewhere that I felt I needed to escape from.

Hua Hin is quite a big town (pop. 48k) and partly with a western influence. There is a Hilton and a Marriot here and a palace getaway for the royal family. It's a shame that I can't catch a game of elephant polo while I'm here; I think that would be worth seeing! There is charming traditional Thai architecture too that is not just reserved for temples.

Thai New Year is being celebrated now and Songkran is happening in many towns and cities between 10th & 16th April. This traditional Thai custom of merrymaking is seen to be the Kingdom's most "sanuk" (fun-filled) festival, and celebrated with tremendous enthusiasm, nationwide, once a year on April 13th marking the Thai new year.

It involves the characteristic tradition of water-throwing... ranging from a courteous sprinkle or a polite splash, to harmless water pistols and showers from garden hoses to the well-aimed bucket or complete drowning... delivered in a festive spirit with a big smile. Songkran is a refreshing solution to the heat in this hottest season of the year. The underlying significance of Songkran is the process of cleansing and purification - the purging of all ills, misfortune and evil and starting the New Year afresh with all that is good and pure. Water is symbolic of the cleaning process and signifies purity.

We were only out of our guesthouse when we were drenched, so we armed ourselves with buckets and water-pistol. Fortunately I found an unused, connected hosepipe at the side of the road so we positioned ourselves and battle commenced. It was a great laugh as pedestrians, motorcyclists and cars were all fair game. We also had on ongoing vendetta with the boys on the opposite side of the road. The atmosphere is one of friendly fun. The Thais also make a kind of plaster paste and dawb your face and arms whilst wishing you "Happy New Year". Even later into the day when a few beers have been downed the mood is still as good.

The festive elements of the celebration itself, the cultural values, the social code of conduct and individual belief and practices are intertwined. Songkran marks a new beginning & is also a time for thanksgiving. It is an important time for individuals to reflect upon the many acts of kindness and thoughtfulness each has personally experienced and to remember how such acts of generosity and compassion bring peace, happiness and well being. Songkran is also the time for reunions and family ties are renewed. Many Thais travel to home towns and Bangkok is reported to loose about a third of it's population. Unfortunately we will be heading up there when a lot of others are too.

The guesthouse that we are staying in is a lovely traditional teak house. These were orginally built just with loads of wooden shutters and no windows so that they could be completely opened up during the day and closed at night. The house is neatly tucked away down a side alley; a haven away from the loud, water slinging when you need respite. It also has a lovely small garden area.

On the hill at the end of the long Hua Hin beach is a tall Buddha. Buddha images are obviously not unusual here but the location is. He is standing on the rocky hillside with a monastery a little higher. There are loads of monkeys who are really entertaining but can get over excited if they think that you have food for them.

I really like it here (like everywhere else!) but I'm moving on tomorrow. I'm going to see a man in Bangkok about a job. I may eventually be starting work as an English teacher!! I can't bum it around forever....can I?

TTFN, LOL, Deb x



Advertisement



18th April 2006

Busy times
Debs Glad to here you are still enjoying yourself. I spoke to Steve this morning on his first day back and he said he had a great time although he almost missed his flight back and had to leave without buying any goodies. I have been a bit busy with work - new project and also at home. We have had Simons Mum and Nephew staying with us and they only left on Sunday. At my last checkup the Midwife said I was bigger than I should be and I could be 3 weeks further on and she may send me for another scan next week however I believe it is all the food I have been eating. I either have 8 wks or 5 wks left to go. I would rather it be sooner as I am the size of an elephant at the moment. I received your text but did not get a chance to reply at the time and then I forgot. Sorry. Look forward to your next update. Love Brenda
18th April 2006

Hello
Sounds like you're visting some amazing places and having a great time. Sarah's just come back from her holiday in Phuket etc and she said it was beautiful too. Your not missing much here - I'm still off work !! although I have plenty to do at home. Isabella is now 8months old - hasn't that flown by. Anyway, keep well and safe and don't enjoy the ocktails too much.... love Rach x
19th April 2006

Wow!!
having just sussed out where to read your journal have just read all your entries in 1 go! Wow, wow and wow!! Go Girl! Fabtastic, what a picture you paint! I love all your descriptions and extra cultural info etc -all that grammar study has really paid off! I love a good past participle or comparitive and superlative myself! You make it sound such a fantastic adventure I want ot abandon my family and jump on the next available flight to join you! Can't wait for your next installment - sounds like wherever you lay your hat that yours home - what a great adventure! Stay safe and keep on keeping on!xxx

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb