Under the sea


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
February 27th 2010
Published: February 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Getting ridiculously lazy with the whole blog thing now, sorry people! We eventually have wifi in our room so I will try to catch up on all the places we've been!

After Petchaburi we headed to Cha am where we sunned ourselves for a few days but not much else. It was just full of old people. Then we got the train to Chumphon where we were getting the ferry to Koh Tao, our first Thai island!
We left for the ferry at 5.30am and it was actually still dark when we got up! The ferry was full of tourists and we were bombarded with touts trying to get us to stay at their hotels at the other end. Its not what you need at 5.30am!! We decided to go with one of the dive resorts (as this is where we have planned to do our diving!), plus its just easier to say yes to people sometimes!
So we decided to a discover scuba dive to see if we like it first.I was pretty scared, as just going in the sea in Spain scares me!
When we arrived at Koh Tao, we were slightly disappointed. Its a gorgeous island but just was more packed with tourists than we thought it would be.
Nevertheless, we did our discover scuba, it was 1 day with 2 dives. The first was shallow at a site called Japanese Gardens. It was good, although I did have a few panics, especially when I looked up and seen a boat above us! Craig loved it and wanted to do the 2nd dive. I was a bit unsure but decided to go for it anyway. So we went down on our second dive which was 12m deep, we were swimming for only a minute or so when we got to the bottom then I cut my hand on some coral! My blood was green under the water! Anthony our instructer took us back to the surface, it turned out my cut was deeper than first thought, so he told me cover the cut with my other hand while he pulled me up. Obviously this was to try and stop it from bleeding but all I could think was that he was making me do that so I didnt attract sharks!!!?
I think Craig was a bit gutted the dive was cut short because of my disastrous tendancies.
After a day or 2 when my hand started to heal we decided to just go for it and do an open water course. Craig was definitely up for doing it, but I had to think about it a bit more!
Well, we did it. Had a great instructer, and 3 great people in our group, and 3 days later were qualified open water divers!
We did 4 dives, went as deep as 20m seen thousands of fish, great baraccuda, giant groupers, trevally, and I got attacked by a titan triggerfish! Other people in a different group who were doing the same dive seen 3 bull sharks but we missed them! Oddly we were slightly disappointed we didnt see them.
It was amazing and we are both so glad we done it. We had a good night out with our group, Neil, Pearl, Dave and Luke on our last night, then left for Ko Samui the next day.
Samui was just a 1 day trip to break up the longer journey to Khao Lak. We managed to bump into our dive group again!
From arriving at Koh Tao when we were a bit dissappointed at the place; we would actually go back tomorrow! We loved it there and missed it as soon as we left!

Next stop Khao Lak - gateway to the Similan Islands to do more diving!



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb