Day 5


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
October 12th 2009
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 5
15:00

WOOOOOW! Now this is more like it!! :o)

Just arrived at koh Tao and it's every bit the paradise I expected, White sandy shores separated by huge natural Boulders with a backdrop of forest covered mountains. It's shear bliss here and I recon it may be quite a while till I leave too. I've come here to do my padi open water cert but 4 nights will not be enough, I love it.

Arrived at 9 in the morning after leaving khao San at 9 last night, there was Around 30 people on the bus and everyone but 2 people slept, the other was Carla who was sitting next to me, an exotic dancer from Blackburn in lancashire. We chatted for hours, whiling away the bumpy journey with views on life, mainly the thai way of life. It's a strange world here and she knew it well having lived on the island of koh samui for 5 years. She had just returned from a 6 week working trip to hong kong having made enough money to live on for 3 months. She was quite an amazing character and was totally worth the feeling of exhaustion I feel now having missed the 3rd night of sleep in 5 days of being in Thailand. I somehow feel I know her so well. she has taught me alot about the Thai people and their oddities, and also the amazing way of life living on a southern island gives you. Having a champion mai thai boxer as a partner plus many other Thai friends, she had been through alot and was happy to tell the tales.

Since the boat dropped me off and Carla and i had parted company I got to know my new diving pals Scott, Becky and Caroline. They all seemed pretty nice enough. Caroline, a newly graduated phychiatrist from Finland and I went for a walk around our beach and tried a swim in the sea which was deliciously warm! She too seems to have noticed the magic of this place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb