Going it alone!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand » Hat Yai
March 28th 2006
Published: March 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone and welcome to the lastest enstalment of Jonny's travel blogs, a mediocre literary piece of stunning events!!!

The last time I was writing how much I hated Phuket!! Well the hatred never deteriorated from the awful place as that night we went out for a few boys only to have our faces slammed into the seedy world of Thai drinking. Everywhere I looked was the view of European blokes sleezig over a young thai girl; we even saw a few proper lady boys who held no shame to lift up there manly adams apples and female boobs!! Not bootiful! I went home early that night and thought "J sprig sprog you need a change of scenery, your more stale than a loaf of bread"!

So the next day I went it alone. The boys were staying in Phuket, of which I was not opposed to, but I wanted to get away and live a bit on my own. I headed to Ko Pi Pi, where the film "the beach" was filmed. The expense hit the single travellor hard, as it was the most expensive place I've stayed at all trip (at least double). Good timing Jonny!! I managed to find the cheapest accommodation of a box room at a meagre 550 baht (about triple what ive been paying)! The island is stunning if a bit expensive. Cliffs of rockfaces surround the bays and the beaches are bootiful. I only spent a day and a half here- in that time i hired out a kayak and canoed to monkey bay, a beach with loads of tame monkeys around, all getting fed sweetcorn by rich europeans in speedos who had sailed there on their luxury yachts. I felt a bit out of place but nevertheless a good experiene. I spent the afternoon sunning it up on a brilliant beach, drinking beer, reading and listening to chillout- perfect!!
I was going to do a 4day dive course, but the price of 180quid put me off as well as the continued accommodation costs. I was contemplating camping in a tent for a few days and doing the course, but when the storm came with pounding rain all night, I knew it was time to move on! Be more decisive I told myself!!

I headed to Krabi, and one particular beach (Hat Sai) which my lonley planet describes as a place where "nobody is in a rush and nobody has any money". My sort of place. Also it is a major rock climbing centre. It was an absolute mission to get to- had to catch a bus, then a boat to a different beach, then walk about 2 miles with my rucksack over 2 further beaches seprated by a "small hill" (was infact a bloody great big hill which at time I had to pull myself up with a guide rope that was strung down the mountain- tuff!). I eventually got there and immediately loved it- loads of climbers clambering about the cliffs overlooking the small bay, beach bars surrounding it, with a track leading off into the jungle with all the guesthouses. I managed to find a small hut at a reasonable price that was heaven- even had a small balcony! So far one of my favourite places I have been to! I did a days rock climbing the following day, advancing up some real toughies! I think I prefer climbing to any watersports (ie diving)- as it brings back memories of climbing the big tree in my garden in my youth! In the evening met an American and ended up getting pretty hammered with a south african couple- ity was her birthday and she loved my 'sooth afrikarn' chitter chatter!!!

A day and a half was needed to recooperate my arms, caining from climbing, and then it was time to move on from this great place. My final night was had listening to the unbelievable noise of a tropical storm, as the rains and thunder and lightning shook the whole place. The metal roof of my hut clattered with every drop- amazing!!

I had got used to time away from traffic (tuk tuk drivers constantly asking for business) and the hustle and bustle of life so it was a bit weird getting bak to normality. I headed to Hat Yai, the final stop in Thailand before heading to Malaysia. Last nights journey was a bit of a nightmare. Cus the woman got her times wrong, I didnt leave till 4pm. On the way the minibus broke down, as the right wheel was knackered and came off the rod thing (good technical language!)- we (me and a bunch of thais) waited for 2 hours in the pitchblack, in the middle of nowhere for another van to come along. I eventually arrived in Hat Yai at about 11pm, having had no food with no accommodation sorted- shit!! I cheked all lonely planets suggested guesthouses but they were all full- I felt like mary and joseph, tired and just wanting a bed. Eventually I gave in and stumped for a hotel box room- what a failure!!

This morning, Ive finally bought a camera so for the next blogs you can see some photos- and as Im not with the boys I dont have their cameras at hand.

Hope everyone is good back home! I head to my only Muslim country on my trip, Malaysia, tomorrow for a bit of Islam brainwashing!! (actually my clothes do need a good wash!!).

take care
Jonnyx

Advertisement



28th March 2006

Disabled mouth
Jonny you've got such a disabled mouth. I'm sure the title for this artical should be going it ALONE wheares you've put going it ALONG. Get it fixed. I'll send you an email in a bit - i just wrote an extra long one to Smith and i'm knackered plus lecture in about 20 minutes. Ta ta for now.
31st March 2006

fanny batter
Jonny Jonny, why no mention of ladies, just lady boys??? I hope you're getting your leg over?? uhumm.....women that is. Sounds like you're having a bonkers time. Lovely spring day here in Sheff, no longer too "Chill Bill". Stick a Chang up yer bum!!!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb