Plane food and staying healthy - Beige things!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
March 6th 2017
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Plane Food & Staying Healthy




On the ground we plan our meals and make our choices. It’s not always quite as easy when you’re 30,000 feet in the air! I recently had two long haul flights for which I was organized with protein bars and some oatmeal whilst in transit. On the second flight hunger had reached me and probably boredom too… so I asked for the beef meal.

It made me notice just how tricky planes are! I had four pieces of beef, some carrots and some beans. Everything else on the plate was beige! Mashed potato, crackers, cheese, bread, pasta, butter. I had the cheese and left the rest behind which was a waste really. There was also a piece of chocolate.

Definitely motivated me to be prepared for future flights. I like to have protein bars on hand as they aren’t messy and don’t cause any issues through security or with refrigeration.

It’s tricky not knowing when you’ll be hungry especially with jet lag and dehydration. Plane delays cause problems too!


• Try to drink water before you go for food. Stay as hydrated as possible.
• Remember that you’re sedentary on planes, so you won’t need too much energy from food.
• Bring healthy snacks! Nuts and protein bars are easy to transport.
• If you do get hungry and are out of snacks, eat what you can on the plane meal and leave the rest.
• Alternatively try and wait until you get to your destination and you can make a more informed choice about what you are going to eat.


Happy healthy travels!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.2035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb