Day 6 - Scuba and Shopping


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 9th 2007
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 7.97501, 98.3515

Today we had booked to do scuba diving with Megumi from Phuket Pro Dive and Sail.

Megumi started by explaining the mechanics of scuba diving and how to breathe and so on. I have to say that she scared me witless with this and I wasn't really looking forward to the experience. The kids, however, very much were!

We were taken to Kata Beach near the rocks at the end. I have to admit that I chickened out of this activity as simply putting on the wetsuits in the intense heat and humidity was a nightmare, and combined with my fears that something would go wrong, I decided to sit on the beach in the shade and watch.

The kids had a ball, I must say. They behaved well and did everything that they were told and thoroughly enjoyed their session with Megumi. I thoroughly enjoyed watching them and was very glad that I had pulled out.

Megumi was wonderful, even though we must have tried her patience severely. She gave the kids a great day. That was my second failed attempt at scuba diving, I think I will stick to snorkelling from now on!

In the late afternoon, we visited the Patong Otop markets. This was the best shopping we did in
Phuket. The aisles were spacious and the little bars everywhere were wonderful.

Jayden, our 12 year old son enjoyed playing Connect 4 with the staff at the various bars while we shopped. I'm afraid this was as close as we got to Patong itself. The look at the town as we drove in confirmed to me that I would hate it. I am so glad we stayed in Kata, that was just the right type of place for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb