Situating in Phuket Town


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 31st 2011
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Cassie and jamie let me stay with them for 2 nights when we got to Phuket Town on Monday. When we got into town, I had to go visit and touch base with my school. At this point I had no idea where my school was in relation to where their apartment was and I didnt have a map to show a taxi. So I went to an internet cafe, googled the address which was completely pointless because turns out street names are more of a suggestion around here not something they go by 100%, and for back up I took a picture of the google map from the computer which came out too blurry to read or maybe I just cant read Thai.. both. Then, I left the cafe hoping I had enough info to supply my motorbike taxi. I tried pronouncing the name of my school and failed but he told me to jump on anyway. We drove over to another taxi stand and he starts asking and talking to other drivers to figure it out.. then, we're off!
When I got to my bosses office I was sweating like a mad woman and had indentions from the helmet of my forehead. My boss knew right away I was frazzled and told me to just breath for a second and threw me a piece of bubble gum. Then, he showed me around and told me my start date was Thursday (which was perfect to give me 2 days to find an apartment).
Tuesday, I put on my walkin shoes and started walkin. I figured the best way to get to know my surroundings and find a nice place was to start wondering instead of having a taxi drive me around all day. As I was walking, a driver asked me, "where are you going?".. I said "not a clue, thank you". Then I walked by a family sitting outside and they asked the same question. This time, a little delirious at this point, I said "OHHH youuu knoww, nowhere, Justtaa walkinn". After hours of searching and my friend Austin showing me around to a few places on Wed., I decided on a place and finally got to unpack my suitcases!
The owner of the apartment complex is a sweet lady who insisted on driving me to school on my first day.. sooo nice of her! She knows very minimal English so we didnt talk much but I absolutely appreciated her gesture. She is also hookin me up with free internet for my room which means I have no excuse not to update my blog more!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb