Goin goin back back to Phuket Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 30th 2011
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rick-n-Roll HostelRick-n-Roll HostelRick-n-Roll Hostel

Ladies and gentlemen, this is a beach resort with a twist
After two days of teaching at Wittyalai and moving apartments 3 times in a matter of 5 days, in the end, Samut Sakhon just wasnt right for me. Surprising, I know! It was nice to see a real Thai town, unlike the tourist infested Phuket, but I didnt see myself there for 4 months. The language barrier made it extra challenging to get my point across (I cant even get my point across in English), I couldnt find a place to eat besides street vendors, the smells that hit you in the face every 2 steps were unbearable... I'll stop there! But, the people in this town were beyond nice and accomodating. For example, one day I got some ice cream at the market and as I was putting my money away I put my hand out to grab my ice cream, but the lady wouldnt give me my ice cream and gestured for me to put my wallet away first. Good lookin out lady! I'm grateful to have witnessed how a city in Thailand really functioned outside of the tourist areas and I feel 5 days was good enough immersion for me.
I had a skype interview with a
HalloweenHalloweenHalloween

Pirates and an athlete... just go with it
school in Phuket on Thursday Oct 28th (4th day in Samut Sakhon). Got the job and left friday! I took another infamous 12 hr bus ride back to Phuket. This time, however, I didnt have the luxury of having the first row on the bus which had amazing feet space. Instead, I sat behind a lady who enjoyed being comfortable and the seats on the bus recline so far back. I was literally straddling the ladys seat in front of me! She was on my lap! I ended up listening to some country music (my link to sanity) and passing out.
When I got to the bus station in Phuket, I took a taxi to Kata Beach and met Jamie and Cassie at the Rick-n-Roll Hostel. We stayed there 2 nights. On the first night, Rick, the owner, had a halloween party and cut us a deal on the room if we helped out. Jamie and Cassie were pirates and I was an athlete ( you gotta work with what you have in your suitcase). We "helped" set up aka we moved around some chairs and ate all the candy he had out. Then we wondered around Kata to pass
Getting into characterGetting into characterGetting into character

I really had some people fooled. Someone ask me into the night, "weren't you supposed to go for a run earlier?"
out flyers but the Euro's werent diggin us and I dont think we were able to get one group of people to stop by. When we go back to the hostel Cassie and I finished the night off with a little Garth Brooks karoake!
Day #2 in Kata started with some breakfast in our beach attire. But, right when we finished eating the rain started pouring down! Everyone showed back up in the hostel soaked but we werent gonna let the rain ruin our fun. We got the brilliant idea to make a huge collection of drinks to make the ultimate jungle juice. We poured everything we owned into a cooler and played cards all day then grilled out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Doin workDoin work
Doin work

Jamie cutting up flyers to pass out
Zebras and PiratesZebras and Pirates
Zebras and Pirates

We shared a room with the Canadian zebras.
Garthhh!Garthhh!
Garthhh!

gettin it on the mic with some Garth Brooks karaoke
the 3 mosquito bitesthe 3 mosquito bites
the 3 mosquito bites

admiring eachother after our week separation
Hostel friendsHostel friends
Hostel friends

Melbourne, Australia to my right. Burgundy, France to my left.


8th November 2011

Nikoo- You an athlete? Who would have thought... hahaha

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb