One last night in Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 21st 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

another nite in Phi Phianother nite in Phi Phianother nite in Phi Phi

at the hippies bar with a group of backpackers
Wednesday night I hit Phi Phi town again with a bunch of fellow backpackers. The highlight of the evening was that the owner of the "Rolling Stoned" bar allowed me to DJ from my MP3 player while I was there.

Thursday I completed 2 more SCUBA dives at Bida Nai, near Phi Phi Ley island. They were great, save for 2 crappy sets of dive partners- the first was an older out of shape man who sucked his air down faster than anyone I've ever seen... second an Israeli couple who seemed to like to hold hands more than swim in any general directions... so I kinda just wandered around on the ocean floor by myself. I was all SCUBA'd out (and broke)... so that'd be my last dives of the trip 😞

I spent my last night in town with Trevor (USA)... we shot some pool, enjoyed some Thai food and beer, and made it to another fire show on the beach. Afterwards I took some time to wander around the island before bed.... just to take it all in one last time. As much as I loved Phi Phi, I was full... and ready for a place
Rebuilding Phi PhiRebuilding Phi PhiRebuilding Phi Phi

Phi Phi is quickly getting back on its feet for high season. Thai workers are piling up cement bags for new construction.
with more of a "real" Thai feel to it.

I arrived back in Phuket today by ferry for one last go at it here. In the taxi to the hotel I met Gas (AKA Gareth, England) and we decided to rent motorbikes from the Hotel to take us around the island (all for $4 including gas!!). 99% of the bikes here are the step through variety with 100cc or less engines.... still a bit fun though. The make up over half of the vehicles on the road, so cars definitely look for them. I rather enjoy cranking the throttle and flying through the gears at each stoplight (which gives Gas quite a laugh each time). They are quite fun, and riding on the left side of the road makes it that much more interesting. (Don't worry Mom and Dad, I wore a helmet)

We traveled to the Kathu waterfall in a centrally located rainforest on the island... where I think it was 400% humidity... then we sped out of there over some twisting passes over hills to dry off the sweat and I showed Gas Patong beach, and then it was off to Karon- which is possibly the
Tour de Bar, Thailand styleTour de Bar, Thailand styleTour de Bar, Thailand style

Not quite a mountain bike, but this is how I cruised around Phuket today
most beautiful beach on the island. We enjoyed a banana shake, and we were off back to town.

I just went for a quick spin around town, and had a miserable town finding the one way road the hotel was on- but I stumbled upon the market again and enjoyed some coconut pancake goodness. yum.

I really do like it here... people are so friendly, the food and internet is cheap. Tonight I'm meeting up with my friend from the Internet shop, and tomorrow I'm flying to the north country. I will miss the south... no doubt.



Advertisement



21st October 2005

Awesome
I can't believe how much you've done in such a short time. Great pictures! The motorbike looks like fun. Enjoy the next part of your adventure!
22nd October 2005

local update
Aunt Roberta, Dad and I did a marathon 13 hour drive to Amish Country and back yesterday to meet face to face with Shaftels they never knew before. Tell you about it when you get back. I look forward to your wonderful journals. Keep exploring every opportunity! O's and X's

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb