Karaoke in Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
July 26th 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I didn't make it up for the sake of yet another alliterative title, there really was a horrific attempt at karaoke in Krabi!

The journey up here from Malaysia was not particularly pleasant so I have resolved to take trains whenever possible from this point forward. I arrived in Krabi quite late at night feeling tired and hungry, but the guest house I'd booked was great and as soon as I saw my room, I felt a lot better! The food from the night market down by the harbour was great - yummy satay, pad thai and "fish on a stick" so I ate there every night.

Krabi was definitely worth a visit (a lot of people just use it as a transit town for Koh Phi Phi) and I ended up staying 3 nights. I met a lovely bunch of geordies, and got my first taste of Thai nightlife, which was ...eh... interesting! The choice of karaoke tunes was matched by our singing talent, ie both were pretty horrendous - I think the only song we recognised (out of all the ones we attempted) was Perfect Day, by Lou Reed. Special.

I also went out on a long tail boat to a fishing village, parts of which were really pretty, and saw some turtles, pufferfish and boxfish. I had hoped to travel over to Koh Phi Phi with my new geordie friends but one of them became too ill to travel so I was on my own for a while, but not long...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb