Biking in Batu Ferringhi


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » Batu Ferringhi
July 24th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Easy riderEasy riderEasy rider

Me & my wheels
Keen to see a bit more of Penang Island, Andrew and I hired scooters to get around the North Coast. I was pretty nervous at first, but got to grips with my new wheels fairly quickly. Travelling under our own steam was great - free to go wherever, whenever.

We found a lovely guesthouse by the beach and relaxed to the max all afternoon. The sea was tempting me, until Andrew got stung by a jellyfish and I decided to give it a miss. We cruised up the coast a few km to another beach where we sat on the rocks and watched the sun go down (see Andrew's lovely photo). We had some great hawker food (again!) and hit Batu Ferringhi's famous night market for some bartering and bargain hunting. Andrew had met a guy in KL who gave him a note to pass on to a friend of his who worked in a bar in BF, basically saying "Andrew's my friend - give him a free beer!". The bar, as it happens, was across the street from our guesthouse so we delivered the note, and had an ice-cold Skol on the house.

The next day we drove up the coast, stopping at a Butterfly Farm and the Titi Kerawang Waterfall. The waterfall especially was worth the windy roads - we sat by a plunge pool eating bananas to escape the midday sun. When I could take my eyes off the road, I had a great view of jungle right down to the sea. That night we ordered a fifth of the Dim Sum menu (!) at a hawker centre - I will never tire of prawn dumplings - yum.

We said our goodbyes the next morning - Andrew was off to Singapore and I was headed for a fresh start in a new country: Thailand :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb