Staying at the Bananas, part one


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
December 5th 2017
Published: December 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Civil-disobedience-viewpoint, here I come! Civil-disobedience-viewpoint, here I come! Civil-disobedience-viewpoint, here I come!

(I was told by some other hikers, that the sign was left from yesterday and that the rangers told them that they could ignore it today. I did the same)
A sunny beach and mangrove forest hide one of the nicest hostels I stayed at. 'The Bananas' was the perfect place to end my stay in Southern Thailand. At the time I'm writing this, there's only one more day to go before I leave the land of smiles. And incidentally, about an hour, before I hop on my scooter, drive back to Ao Nang and get a shared taxi to the airport.

I felt a bit.. Apprehensive before coming here. Locked in, a victim of my own planning (or lack thereof). I booked the plane ticket from krabi earlier, because I expected to go to koh Lipe (but didn't, because of the weather. People that actually went told me this was a good decision, but still..) it caused me to have to stay in the krabi region for another couple of days. And as you may know, Krabi is one of the most touristy places around these parts. And.. I'm looking for the non-touristy things. Good hikes, water, unique experiences, good friends..

I was lucky to find all that at the Bananas, however. It's quite far from krabi center and the beach (~40m from both), and boasts some experiences I did not expect to find.

Below this post, you'll find the photos of me doing a nice steep hike on the local mountain, a kayaking trip down a mangrove forest, with monkeys and beautiful limestone formations on the canyon it goes trough.

The afternoon was spent locating and swimming at the secret beach, which was actually quite secret this time around. Took us an hour to find the right path and scramble down. When on the beach, a thunderstorm got to us, butsince it's not too cold and the lightning passed quickly, it was actually quite nice to be in the rain. Another adventure checked off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

I made a new friend! I made a new friend!
I made a new friend!

You're a lizard, Harry!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb