One’s paradise is another’s hell


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
December 24th 2011
Published: December 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

whats a glass whats a glass whats a glass

yassssssss
“I don’t feel so bad” “neither do I” this was a surprise next thing D ducks under the covers as I took one of the great morning stretches, “OH MY GOD, Michael a spider” D does this to me all the time “Fuck off” “NO REALLY! UP THERE” I turned my head and looked up above our bed just next to the balcony doors and seen the BIGGEST spider I have ever seen in my life!!! At this point I didn’t really sit that long to look, I ducked under the covers as well, the boy that cried wolf “told you, do something” I listened to D and being the man in the situation I realised it was down to me to get this situation back under control so I ran like a bitch from the covers screaming and headed for the door in the opposite direction from something that should have been cast in Doctor Who. “What you going to do?” while she zoomed in and took a picture, I looked about the room and couldn’t see anything that was long enough that I didn’t need to go to close like a sword so I said wait here and I
drunk drunk drunk

a face only a mother could love
will return my love with some help...

“Hurry!” I walked out the room and headed down the stairs stopped and done that shaky body rubbing your head to your toes in disgust look then gathered myself and went down to see Moe, “Moe, Moe big spider in room” her face went up as to say and what, “And I need someone else to get it” she nodded and laughed, she called Soul, her man and I could see him head to get what he needed, I ran back up the stairs and D was in the same spot she was when I left she didn’t take her eyes off it, “What’s happening?” I told her that Soul was coming.

Soul came in with a broom in one hand and a blanket in the other, it was up high so he had to jump on top of the side table and you could feel the tension in the room, all went quiet and then strike broom went up the blanket followed and the spider seen it coming and fucked off so fast “DID HE GET IT?” I screamed “NO” as I ran out the door again D followed, now
loving the night sky loving the night sky loving the night sky

I could see every singal star
I would be lying if I told you step by step what happened next as there was not a hope in hell I was going back in the room until the fucker was dead, Soul walked out with a smile on his face and the spider dead in the blanket flung it over the balcony and even before it dropped to the ground a bird flew down, picked it and was in for a nice BIG breakfast.

We said thank you and went back in the bedroom with both of us looking at ever point of the room scanning it while going back into bed “What the hell was that?” (opportunity, so I took it) “Moe said it’s a face hugger” “A WHAT?!!!” “Yeah, it just grips round your head and eats your face!” Her face was a picture and then you could just see her mind working and she turned and said “Swear on my life” I can’t if it’s not true, so I folded.

After we got ready we headed down for some breakfast and D was telling Moe how I was joking with her and we asked is that dangerous her head went back and
is it a bird a plane is it a bird a plane is it a bird a plane

no its the best time of our lifes
forth, the relief in me and D’s face was only held for a second as she said “blank one, RUN”. It comes about that the brown ones are fine but if you ever see a black one you have to make a run for it, as if it gets you, you’re dead as the closest hospital is only a taxi and then a boat to another Island and an hour away.

Miw was leaving that morning and she came down the stairs just before her boat had to leave she was how shall we say dying, she looked over I gave her a tablet that I had to settle her stomach before the boat ride which she said seemed to work but she was off on the back of Bong’s bike but not before we had added each other on face book so we can always keep in touch. The rest of the day was a quite one spent in the Samatha, Moe the front of house was quiet and I think it was that she did not understand much English compared to Miw but I always still made time for Moe as she had a personality that lit
peace man peace man peace man

sitting back looking at the stars
up a room with her smile, she came out with a book later that night and asked if I could help her with a few words she would like to learn and also how to write them as well.

Moe is 27 years old and is from Burma she moved to the Island about 7 years ago and didn’t go to high school as she had to take care of her younger sister so didn’t get the chance to learn her first job was as a chef and her bosses were not good to any of their staff not just Moe. Her mother died at the age of just 45 and Moe received a call to explain her mother was dying and had to take out a loan to visit her before she passed, it involved 4 days travelling and the day of her arrival she sadly found out she had missed her mother by one day All Moe wants is a baby. She told us she didn’t know she was pregnant at one point, and by working so hard that she lost her baby. Bong is a great boss and for as little as you think she has just now in her life, she has way more than most. She lives opposite the Samatha in a living space that most people back home use as there outside shed, with its small wooden door which when closed over you can hear everything to the point it feels there all coming in the front door, its sheltered with a tin roof and has a bed, small TV enough room for what clothes they have and then beside the door a mirror and finally her small alter on the wall with pictures of her past, about 7 x8 ft.

After seeing this and hearing her life I took a step back and it was not really until a point she spoke in her native language to her husband, she changed from front of house to this girl not from here and that just wants to go back home and see her gran that she has not spoken to in 2 months and seen in 5 years. I told her I would help her as much as I can and started with the book, it was about 6.00pm and we sat into the night first just starting with words then sentences
beach party beach party beach party

relaxing
it was that basic I had to teach her thing like towel, bed cover, mattress protector, knife, fork, sad, happy, rain, sunny it’s not that she didn’t know what these things were she just didn’t know how to say them or write them.

The next morning I went down stairs for breakfast and there was Moe with a big smile on her face, “how was your night?” “very good Moe, she had picked up everything that we done straight away I was so proud, after breakfast I sat with her this was what my time here was taken up with any chance I had I would sit with Moe and teach her new words or there meanings.

Up yours Mrs Gilchrist from forth year standard grade English, telling me I can’t do the subject. By the end of the second day just before dinner me and D wanted to go a walk down the beach and get something down there, Khoon was in the back barbequing some fish, Moe was ready to crush up all the spices as she sat with me, I asked if I could do it instead and without even thinking about it she handed
great view great view great view

D I mean
me the dish and I started crushing away. D came down the stairs and looked stunning, we said our good nights and we were off.

“how nice is this, look what we are doing” the walk down the beach was great just the sea coming back and forth with the sand between your toes and the stars in the sky this was paradise indeed, we went to the big blue grill to have something to eat where we were entertained by a fire show again and then off to Lotus Bar we went to have a drunken night, we walked along the beach and descended to the bar, after the buckets were ordered and I saw the perfect opportunity to have a game of pool D quickly made friends with a Russian girl and others as they tried to beat the massive Jenga game D was doing really well, I had great fun on the pool table and was clearing up left right and centre, the second bucket in I started to miss a few shots and called it a night on the table, I turned around and seen D with this guy at the other end of the
my heads my heads my heads

almost on fire
beach my cheer leader had abandoned me, with me being such the jealous type… I thought nothing of it, went up to her and asked what she was doing, she turned and said she was trying to find this guy a girl for the night, she was a knee rub away from Ciilla Black, after hunting down a girl and letting him enjoy the rest of his night, as did we, we had not a care in the world dancing away on the beach together, the rain tried its hardest to stop us and it beat most people as the hid under the bar and anywhere they could find, while me and D just danced we danced till we got that wet that D wanted the toilet and was for not using the ones in the bar, even at the start of the night they were not to be used, we staggered up the hill and round the corner it was not late about 1.00am we got in D done what she needed to do and the last thing I heard as I took off my wet clothes was “ lets go back out!” I didn’t even respond my head
Bucket Bucket Bucket

D loves her buckets
hit the pillow and I was ordering to black coffees the next morning thinking what a night.

We went a walk round to find the best price for us to go as it was coming up the end of our time here. This was sad as I really made a connection with the people from Bong the owner his girlfriend Miw, Khoon the cleaner, Best, Jackie and Moe, we found the cheapest price which included a taxi that was picking us up at 9.00am we walked back and said to Moe she was looking sad and wanted us to stay, she asked if we would like to go a walk as Bong was letting her off work at 8.00pm as it was our final night I said of course and D accepted as well. D came down the stairs and Moe was on the phone she came off with a smile on her face “Bong said dinner and drinks on him” this was very nice of Bong and we accepted.

Later that night we went down to see what the plans where and the place that he was planning on getting food from was shut so he decided to send Khoon to get steak and just cook it here next thing I know I’m on the back of a motorbike with a fifty four year old man, I am holding on for dear life as he jumps through the traffic on the half dirt road onto bumps, my arse was killing me, we must have driven about fifteen minutes and pulled up onto a shop Khoon walked in and got what we needed and we were off again, I really don’t know why he wanted me to go but it was not till half way back I realised that there was bars on the back of the motorbike you could put your hands onto for support for the last twenty minutes of driving I realised that I had my hands round Khoon for the full journey.

We arrived back safe and sound and dinner was on, bong ordered pasta for D and pizza for the rest including the steak as they share everything with each other no one really has a set plate of food everything arrived and I was really hungry I grabbed a slice of pizza and took half a bite out of it crunched
need a drinkneed a drinkneed a drink

after that
with the back of my teeth so the taste buds could really get to work “fishy pizza” I looked at the other half in my hand Bong looked up and D laughed “what made you think I like fishy pizza” confusion went round the table “I thought anchovies were a vegetable” out of sheer respect I had to finish the rest and kill the taste with the juicy steak that was coming out.

Bong looked round to us “See Thai share everything, better” I could see D’s face “See if I run out of chips back home and go to take one of D’s she would actually have the fork raised in one hand with the plate behind her year saying Fuck off you eat all yours” “I like my own food”, Moe came out with Khoon’s soup and Bong asked if I would like to try it, since I been at the hotel I have tried many different types of Thailand food from crab to one spicy salad that I couldn’t even swallow so Moe had a bowl at the ready and I was told it was beef soup and the first couple of spoon fills were not
D wanting some foodD wanting some foodD wanting some food

I ordered this ages ago
bad and the third I crunched down on something that squirted Bong’s face lit up when he seen mine drop “what was that? That wasn’t beef” Bong laughed “what you think? You like?” I looked down at the bowl to find different bits of the cow, Khoon at this time was raising his fist, “this makes the men…. Men!” It’s cock and balls isn’t it?” it was and I can say it’s the first and the last time. We later decided to go out for a walk with Moe she was buying us dessert, Rotee mmmmm… I asked Moe if she would like to go sit down in a bar to talk but she said no and just wanted to get the Rotee and get back to the hotel. She told us how people still on the Island would shoot her if they see her because she was from Burma, I found this shocking, she is the nicest person you would ever meet, she just wants everyone to be happy except from rooster man down the road. He sleeps all day and goes around his garden at night but this is ok as I explained to Moe that we have
happy happy happy

lets tuck in
people like that back home and we call the crazy bastards. By the time we got back home, we had eaten our dessert and Bong gave everyone else the night off and everything was locked up, we went up to bed as we had some packing to be done in the morning,.

“What time is it?” we got up and packed the room, it’s been done that many times now it must take me ten minutes to finish while D still decides what she is wearing today and how her hair is going to be, you know that difference between men and woman you discover at one point in your life that it’s just the way they are, totally the opposite of you.

“Ready” we went down and Moe looked sad we got the cameras out and took some photos “I don’t want you to leave” if I had a penny for ever time that sentence was used… “We are getting the taxi just on the main road, its picking us up” as we were walking down the road I could see Moe look down and knew that I would see her again someday. We waited for at
Michael son Michael son Michael son

loving it
least twenty minutes until D decided I should go back up and ask to use the phone to see were this taxi was as we didn’t want to miss the boat. I was right and seen Moe again she looked surprised , I asked her to call for me as no one can really understand me, she called and took my ticket came off the phone “it’s not till half nine” “What time is it just now?” “Ten to nine” “IT’S TEN TO NINE” I walked down as I shouted to D and we picked up the bags Sitting back where we started, D was shaking her phone as it kept telling her the wrong time, after a while we were saying goodbye again and off to the boat for our next adventure “Full moon party here we come!!”.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 33


Advertisement

crushing spices crushing spices
crushing spices

for dinner
Moes book Moes book
Moes book

teaching english
a page a page
a page

she learned it all
also a also a
also a

mango lover
mango lover mango lover
mango lover

goes down nice and easy


26th December 2011

loved reading this
mate keep it up, its really cool to hear about what you are getting upto.i am guilty because i have been lazy with my blog and now forgot about half the things i have done. Stay safe and if you fancy a trip to korea there is an apartment here waiting for you.
28th December 2011

thanks mate
I am glad you are enjoying it, its hard sometimes but you get the chance to get it made into a book once I have finished and I think it would be a great thing for the kids ya ken, thanks very much for the invite words you might regret lol look like your having a ball also jump back on the blog thing as its never to late best of luck and have a happy new year Michael
30th December 2011

Blog
Keep up the good work with your hilarious yet informative blog lol! Its going to be amazing to show our kids and grandkids every step of our amazing, fun, scary, exciting, mad & beautiful journey. Thank you for making my little girls dream come true. I couldnt imagine sharing this experience with anyone else in the world. Thank you for coming with me, taking care of me and making me laugh every single day (the story of the old couple in the paper that I cut out - laughin everyday is the key to a good life long marriage. We are that couple!!) I love you, forever and a day. xxx
6th January 2012

paradise
fandabbydosi xx

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb