Thailand: 1 , Me :0


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
June 26th 2011
Published: June 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Okay, sorry for the delay...it's been a busy/ridiculous week. So...

Diving: Finished up my open water course and got my Advanced certification this week as well. For the advanced course, we did a couple of specialty courses, such as a deep dive (got down to 25m), a buoyancy course, and a night dive. The night dive was easily my favorite...nothing like being 15m under water and turning off your flashlight. It was also cool to see the different sealife that comes out at night.

After completing my 3rd dive of the day on Thursday, I was finally finished with my training and was able to get involved with the marine conservation program. Thankfully, everyone took a bit of a day off on Friday and we spent the day snorkeling and attempting a bit of free diving in Ao Leuk. Saturday we had a reef clean up...but as I'll explain in a bit, neither me or the other volunteer on the trip were any use. We ended up getting lost and popped up in the middle of the Bay, way off where we were supposed to be. Thankfully, as far as I can tell the clean up was a success since a few of the other dive schools on the island took part.

Non-Diving: Thai Bucket > Four Loko. No joke. Friday night, a few of us went to Sairee Beach for a bit of a bar crawl. We got dinner and had a few drinks before finally making our way down to Lotus Bar, where we were just in time for 2 for 1 Buckets! Stupidly, me and another one of the volunteers decided it would be a good idea to take turns buying rounds of buckets...we didn't know that one bucket each was more than enough. Also, my drinking buddy is Irish,so obviously I thought it would be fun to try to keep up (terriblemistake). The last thing I remember is getting up to go buy cigarettes (since when do I smoke?!?!). Next thing I know I'm sleeping in a hammock in the courtyard of my hotel with no sandals, no keys, and a broken camera. I vaguely remember some drunken blaggering to some German people, and I think they were kind enough to buy me a cab home. Thankfully I wasn't the only lush that night and everyone came home with similar stories of drunken debauchery.

Anyways, we took last night off from the party scene for obvious reasons and I made a trip back to Sairee to buy a new camera. Aside from that we just hung out on the beach all day....now we're about to head out for dinner and to a party at some bar called the Castle. Hopefully it won't be a repeat of Friday...



Advertisement



26th June 2011

sounds like quite the evening, brother! Glad you are having a good time!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb