Tropical Paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
April 26th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After Siem Reap, I pushed on to Bangkok for one night, which was interesting for only one thing. While I was walking down the street I heard my name called out, which is fairly unusual in foreign countries, turns out it was the people that I had traveled Cambodia with. Then, as I was walking to the bus with a backpack on, I turned around and was completely shocked to see Welsh/Irish guy I met on the boat into Laos and split a room with all through Laos, whom I hadn't seen for about a month. He was off to Bejing that night, so the chances of our pathes crossing was minute. Beyond seeing old travel buddies, in Bangkok I decided to make Ko Tao, an island a ways off the western coast of Thailand, my last stop before Singapore.

I soon found myself in the tropical paradise of an island off of Thailand. My bungalow was about a 30 second walk from the beach, with the hotel's restaraunt commanding an impressive view of the western shore, which provided a great setting for watching sunsets. Besides relaxing on the beach, I also went biking, ran alot and went snorkeling. Ko Tao is reknowned as a great SCUBA diving location and lived up to its word. The snorkeling trip took my to numerous coral beds. Next time I will have to get SCUBA certified.

To leave Ko Tao, I decided to splurge on a flight ticket to Singapore from a nearby island of Ko Samui, a plan which lead to an adventure . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb