Back to Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 30th 2006
Published: March 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I hope you enjoyed the pictures from Ko Phangan because I lost camera #2 a couple days ago. I think I left it at a restaraunt but they said they never found it. So it's too bad but I'm not buying another goddamn camera. No more pictures I guess.
Anyway, I finished my advanced open water diving course. It was so much better than the beginner course. I really don't think your diving experience is complete until you are allowed to go down to 30 meters. That was awesome! There were so many more fish. And last night our last dive was at night. So they give you this flashlight and you go down totally freaked out. But it turned out to be my favorite dive. It was actually really peaceful being down there in the dark. Our group saw a stingray, some huge hermit crabs, huge great barracudas, pufferfish, and phosphorescents. The phosphorescents were tiny krill or something in the water that glow when disturbed. So we turned off our flashlights and started waving our arms around. All around us the water lit up with these blue-green glowing dots. I mean, those things are thick in the water...they're everywhere. It was my favorite part of the dive.
So all in all I did ten dives and never did see a shark. After so much time in the water I really started wanting to see one. They have Grey Reef sharks around, which can get up to six or seven feet long. Or you can go snorkeling with black tip reef sharks which are only about 3 feet long. Oh, and one of the dive instructors was attacked by two triggerfish at once yesterday. She got cut in the back of her head and dragged around by her hair. Another guy got his mask broken when one rammed his face. I hate those fish! I would feel safer knowing there were sharks around than triggerfish.
But now I'm done diving on Koh Tao. I will be super excited next time I get to dive. Now I'm heading to Bangkok today. I think I might go north from there to Chaing Mai. It is famous for trekking and I should probably do some of that after laying on the beach for weeks. Then there is a town called Pai that I'm interested in checking out. Everyone seems to love it. I'm pretty sure I'll spend a month and a half or two months or so in Thailand and then go to Cambodia. It sucks I will have no pictures.

Advertisement



30th March 2006

Idiot!
Okay i think you need to go out and buy some string and then anything you don't want to lose tie it to your wrist!!! You should at least buy a disposable camera or something, your blogs sound so cool it would be awesome to see pictures when you get home...i guess you're pretty lucky not getting hurt by that damn fish so that's something to be happy about. Anyways keep on keeping on, haha, i just wanted to say that, it's starting to get nice here, probably not as nice there, but it's not winter anymore. Not much else new, we all miss you and can't wait to see you again. Have fun!!
30th March 2006

YOU !
Scotty, what is it with you and cameras, thats sad that you lost it. We will miss the pictures, you will get tired of haveing no pics and you will buy another one. Well thats sounds so neat to swim with the fish, did you see any half nakid mermaids...rraarr... well take care and have fun, miss you Love Toni ~~xox~~
30th March 2006

Jealousy has sunk in!
That does suck that you will have no pictures! I can't believe it that you lost another camera. Those Triggerfish are horrible little creatures. Well keep safe, and I hope you can go for another dive soon, I would so love to see the water light up....WOW...well I am 100% jealous of you, and I hope to hear more from you soon... oh and my mom says hi!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb