Deep Blue Diving Resort!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I start my open water scuba diving course....I'm pretty excited. Koh Tao is a world class place to dive. I guess last week some groups saw whale sharks so if I'm real lucky I may get to as well. It is expensive to dive but I had to work it in to my budget. Who would have thought I'd ever be scuba diving in Koh Tao? Rotem is diving too but she's already certified. The course costs 9000 baht (about $225 U.S. I think) and each dive costs 1000 baht after that. There's a tiny island called Shark Island nearby where you can go see some small sharks. I might have to try that despite my terrible fear of sharks. The course is spread over 4 days and the Deep Blue Resort is one of the nicest places I've been. The staff is great and the room looks like an expensive hotel room but it's cheap as long as you're going diving. The only thing that sucks is that it has been pouring rain since we got here. There are millions of little frogs all over now. I still need to buy myself a rain jacket....this is the most rain I've seen since I've been in Southeast Asia. Man to think in 4 days I'll be diving 30 meters under water....that's pretty cool.

Advertisement



21st March 2006

Sharks!!
Go see the sharks!!! Do it for me, if not for you, and don't worry Jaws is just a movie, that stuff only happens in Hollywood, you'll be fine!!! Eeegad, haha, i'm so excited to see pictures of sharks, get an underwater camera!!!
21st March 2006

Scuba Diving With Sharks!
That's so kewl Scott! Will you be certified anywhere in the world after that course Scoot? We all envy you so much. The cost is cheap compared to the experience!! What's money right? Luv U Mom, Sergej, Ryan, Derek
22nd March 2006

koh tao here we come!
hi there nt boyfriend and I will be arriving in koh tao around 3rd april for a few days. Its great to hear a little about the place before we get there. You say its raining there? do you think it'll still be raining when we get there? can you also recommend places to stay?
22nd March 2006

you bastard
hey scoots! Seems like you are havin a blast. By the way i am thinking about traveling with you for a month (before i go to school). Let me know if you are down with that. I don't want to cramp your style. Get back to me. later fraggle rock

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb