Seek and ye shall find.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
February 14th 2010
Published: February 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The beach. Ko Tao.The beach. Ko Tao.The beach. Ko Tao.

Ko Tao's version of the black cab.
May I start by apologising for the negative tone of my last entry. I was having a low point and I was doubting if I would ever find what I had come here to find and to experience. Whilst I know it is wildly hypocritical to say this, I don't much like tourists and will endeavour to avoid them from this point on.

Since my last entry things have taken a steep upward turn. I left Hat Chaweng behind me and headed North for Ban Rak, or as anglophones call it - Big Buddha Beach, owing to the huge seated Buddha that watches over the bay. Ban Rak feels more like a true Thai village. Whilst there is tourism here, there are also many fishermen and whole fisherfamilies who live and work here.

During a morning stroll, to suss out the onward travel situation and to get a closer look at the aforementioned Big Buddha, I discovered a fascinating market in which local people, producers and fishermen were setting up for a days trading. You could smell the authenticity. I got some great photos of the marketfolk and fisherpeople who loved to see their pictures after I'd taken them. Then I strolled onward to the Big Buddha and saw worshippers in prayer and monks in meditation. It was a brilliant morning. This is what I came here for.

So with a renewed sense of optimism I headed further afield, to Ko Tao - a small island, 2 hours by ferry North of Ko Samui. The ferry also stops at Ko Pha Nang of "Full Moon Party" fame but I bypassed it in order to continue my quest for unspoilt serenity. Ko Tao is truly breathtaking and because of its remote location is far less touristed. It is a snorkelling and scuba-diving mecca so the crowd is more 'outdoorsy' than 'boozy' which I like.

I met some nice German guys last night who are doing a very similar route to mine but sadly, our time schedules don't match so I'll continue with my solo travels yet awhile. It would be great to meet some like-minded people to do atleast some of the trip with company. I do enjoy many aspects of travelling alone. You can go exactly where you like, when you like and if things go wrong there's no-one to blame but yourself. But it can get
The market at Ban Rak.The market at Ban Rak.The market at Ban Rak.

Amazing varieties of fish.
lonely sometimes. Whilst on the subject of companions...

As I failed to invest in any vaccinations before I left, I've waged a dogged war against mosquitos and all other biting things (of which there are many). I have a few weapons in my armoury. Full strength, scarily toxic mosquito repellent and all natural citronella oil which I apply alternately at regular intervals. But somehow I have still been bitten many times. Mosquitos really like me! Which is nice. We all want approval - but Malarial, Dengue Fever, B Encephalitis carrying friends I could do without. As I see it though, a few unsightly swellings and a permanent itching sensation are a small price to pay for such unbridled bliss. This is a truly stunning part of the globe and if you choose the right places, you will find what you are looking for.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The lovely market people.The lovely market people.
The lovely market people.

Much howling with laughter and friendly punching went on after I'd shown them the pic.
Big Buddha Temple.Big Buddha Temple.
Big Buddha Temple.

No, this is not a statue. He is meditating.
Big Buddha Temple.Big Buddha Temple.
Big Buddha Temple.

The little girl was copying the grown ups in prayer (most of the time).
The fisherfamilies.The fisherfamilies.
The fisherfamilies.

Mending their nets on the shore.
The path to enlightenment.The path to enlightenment.
The path to enlightenment.

Big Buddha at Ban Rak Beach.


19th February 2010

Phaic tan
Hey sweetie , very impressed with your blog- I think travel writing could be your thing... Hoping the guardian will read it and post you closer to home! Keep writing and I'll keep Reading much love hele x plus love ben x
20th February 2010

Hi
Hello Claire, Your pictures are so beautiful. You look to enjoy your trip. I wish you a lot of discoveries on your way... (about people, you and life) I hope to see you in Australia... ;-) Take care Kiss Clem

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb