Ko Tao - The Last Island!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

1st November 2008 - ARRIVAL
We arrived on Ko Tao by boat. The sun was hot and the boat ride nice because of the breeze. At one point I tried to recreate a Titanic moment but without Leo it didn't quite work!! I certainly didn't feel like I was flying anyway!!!

Ko Tao is smaller than the other islands and is what I would describe as quaint! Our hotel, 'Beach Bay Villa' was right next to the pier with some good views out onto the sea! The whole atmosphere on the island seemed laid back and I had a good feeling about the place and was glad to be finishing my Thailand adventures here! We had a good wonder around the small town to get our bearings and then hit the small beach for an hour before the sun went down!

That evening we wondered into town for food! I enjoyed some Garlic and Pepper Chicken over rice and a shake. We then settled on some big cushions to have a drink and watch a film! You certainly don't get such reclining seats in the bars in England!! Things seemed to shut here at around 10/11pm. Very different to the previous 2 islands and a nice change!

2nd November 2008 - KAYAKS & BEACH!!
After a good sleep I felt way better than the previous day. Following breakfast we wondered up the beach and hired a Kayak our for an hour or so!! The sea was pretty calm and we went quite far out taking in the scenery and giving our arms a workout!! You could see houses set into the sides of the rocks and although an amazing place to live I wouldn't fancy it myself!! Would be 'living on the edge' so to speak!!

That afternoon we had some more beach time where we read, swam and slept! At one point a freak wave caused by a boat going out came right up and over us wetting us and our towels!! Not funny mid relax!! That night we went for food and then strolled back for another early night!! I sound about 80 but seriously, everything shuts here at 10pm!!

3rd November 2008 - Wake Boarding
Today Nat and I split off. Nat wanted to dive and although I was also keen I only wanted to swim at the bottom of the ocean and am not really interested in the fish!! Not really a great reason to dive and so instead I went wake boarding!! I did not think I would get up but surprisingly I got up first time, though I didn't stay up for long!! I soon got the hang of it though and at one point I even managed to jump a couple of waves and do a little carving!! I am not being big headed though as it was most definitely luck....in fact I had a couple of spectacular falls where I got more than a face full of water!! At one point I was laid on my front and it took me about 5 minutes to turn myself over again...the guys on the boat were just laughing!!! I was proud of my efforts though and would recommend anyone to try it!!!

Following boarding I hung around on the beach and read whilst waiting for Nat to return from her days diving!! The night took a downturn however as my camera memory card seems busted and my big spare seems to have gone missing!!! Put me in a foul mood to say the least and took me a long while to come around!!! I hoped this was my third trauma and there were no more to come!!

4th November 2008 - LEAVING THAILAND
Woke up in pain today. The boarding had taken its toll on my arms and legs!! Not a good day to be carrying the backpack!!! Getting the boat from Ko Tao at 2pm and then catching the train across the border into Malaysia!! Looking forward to being in a city again as I am pretty beached out at the moment!! We should arrive at our destination late in evening on 5th November. Lets hope I have more luck and my traumatic events are behind me!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Chilling out in BarChilling out in Bar
Chilling out in Bar

Literally laid down!!!
View from Kayaks!!View from Kayaks!!
View from Kayaks!!

The houses - literally 'on the edge'
Ready to Wake Board!!Ready to Wake Board!!
Ready to Wake Board!!

Thinking at this point....I will never get up!!!
Getting up!!Getting up!!
Getting up!!

Working the thighs there!!!


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 134; dbt: 0.1249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb