Beware of Dogs and Motorbikes!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
November 1st 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

30th October 2008 - NOT A GOOD DAY FOR ANIMALS!!!
We set off early this morning as we didn't want to waste another day lounging around on the beach again! As we set off along the dirt track out of our villa I felt Nat grasp my arm firmly and pull me back with some force! As I looked down it turns out that I had been about to tread on a snake. We stood still and watched it slither into the grass.....pretty exciting and i'm sure it was only a grass snake but still.....I made a mental note to watch where I am treading in future!!

After the snake incident we set off to Bahn Tai. After walking for a good while we hit an old western looking town......wooden balconies, deserted, bit rundown! I half expected John Wayne to jump out in a pair of chaps or some wild horses to come running down the street! We eventually found a nice place to eat breakfast (despite a couple of overfriendly dogs hanging around) and then set off on our way again!

We eventually found Macs Bay...a tip top beach with white sand and green sea! Nice to relax
Ready for a Thai MassageReady for a Thai MassageReady for a Thai Massage

...or auditioning to be a smurf?!!!
on for a while and watch an amazing Thai guy Kite boarding. He was awesome at it but turns out he does it almost everyday. I wanted a go but was gutted when he said it was a three day course and I wasn't here for that long!!! I wish I had discovered it earlier!!

From the beach we headed back towards our complex stopping on the way for a Thai massage. Only about 3 quid for one hour and we got to look like smurfs in blue oversized trouses!! I was looking forward to it and it all started off well! Painful at parts where she pulled my body into positions I never thought possible but also funny in places too though I managed to control my giggles! It really stepped up a notch at one point though...the woman was not slight at all and she stood on me...right in the small of my back and on my bottom.........she did something that made be want to shout out in pain!!! Son of a Bee Sting...it hurt!! Worth the money though and after my hour I felt good and my muscles were not as tight!!!

Once we arrived back we decided to head to a nearby pool for a couple of hours accessed by a short walk along the beach. We were 2 thirds of the way there when a black dog bounded at us...not in a friendly way!! Even Nat was reluctant to go near him as he wasn't wagging his tail and all the hairs were up on it's back. He seemed to make a beeline for me and I waded into the sea. The dog followed and I waded further out. I shouted for help all the while backing into the sea. A Thai woman came over but even she was frightened and said the dog had bitten before. I was up shit creek without a paddle!! I would have gone as far out as necessary to get away from that dog even if Jaws had been lurking nearby! I shouted for help again hysteria setting in!! Nat shouted too and eventually a Thai man came to my rescue and threw something at the dog so it backed off and ran away!! I was shaking pretty badly and tears running down my face. Bloody Dogs........I was doing so well too!!

We took the incident
Top of the Viewpoint!!Top of the Viewpoint!!Top of the Viewpoint!!

Sweaty as the climb was tough!!
as a sign that we should give the pool a miss and went back to our bungalow!! Took a while for me to stop shaking. I felt so stupid but I couldn't control my reactions. A shower sorted me out and we then went for some food before heading to the bar. It was a few peoples last night so we had a good night chatting to everyone and even met a couple from Leeds. At around 2am tiredness got the better of me and I was asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow!!

31st October 2008 - MOTORBIKE ACCIDENT AND THE DAY WE NEARLY DIED!!!
For our last full day in Koh Pha-ngan we decided to rent a motorbike and explore the whole island. Visit some waterfalls and viewpoints and some nice beaches. It didn't quite happen like that!!

Nat had a little test on the bike first...she was a little shakey but ok. Then it was my turn!! No sooner had I set off I couldn't stop only accelerating until I narrowly missed a tree and crashed into a gravelly puddle on the ground! Luckily I wasn't hurt but the bike was!! It wasn't exactly a winning stunt either....only one you might see Barry Chuckle try!! Not a good start and we gave the bike back immediately!! 2 Traumatic experiences in 2 days...I wondered what tomorrow would bring!!

We decided to go for a different approach....push bikes! Exercise and exploring all at once for a cheaper price. Win win as far as we could see!

My bike was special...not average in anyway!!! First it's brakes didn't work too well, it changed gears by itself and not in a good way and the chain came off whenever I applied pressure to the pedals!! This ride was going to be interesting for sure!!

We set off towards Baan Madeua. The roads were pretty flat and we soon arrived at the viewpoint and 2 waterfalls. The walk up to the viewpoint was not pretty though and once again we were hardcore (or stupid) and did it in flipflops!! Good view though and worth the climb!!

Once we were back on the bikes the ride became much tougher and my bike didn't help matters. The roads were anything but flat and Nat especially struggled in the beginning! It was tough in the beaming hot sun and at one point the climb was so vertical we had to get off and push! To add to the drama my chain came off twice just because I stood up (maybe I should eat less ice cream). When we got to Malibu beach though it all felt worth it. It was stunning and was known as the perfect beach! Neither of us wanted to leave but we had a long way to ride until home and not much time!!

The ride only got worse! It was hill after hill and we both struggled. Even motorbikes struggled to get up as they rode slowly passed us...how the hell were we supposed to do it!! I also risked life and limb going down the hills as there was no way I could stop in a hurry!! The sun was still hot and after another 2 hours on the bikes we were both on the verge of collapse from exhaustion and dehydration!! We made a decision to get a taxi to take us and the bikes to the sunset point. Even the driver laughed at us as we both looked on the verge of death!!

He dropped us off at Ao Hin Kong where we found solace in a small restaurant. We re-energised with some food and drink whilst watching the sunset! Following the sunset neither of us could face getting back on the bikes so we got another taxi back to Thongsala from which it was only a short ride home! Some would say it was the day from hell and I definitely needed another massage but apart from the motorbike accident I quite enjoyed it!!

That evening we had decided to have an early night as we were both exhausted but we got dragged out for a drink by some guys also staying at the resort. Dung, the resort's dog also accompanied us!! Following a beer and a good chat Nat and I headed back whilst the boys went into Head Rin. I was looking forward to my bed but we soon realised it wasn't meant to be......we had locked ourselves out and the key was inside!!

There was no one around to help us or let us in. I had a hair grip and tried to work on the lock. Unfortunately I didn't go to burglary school and I failed miserably! We tried a twig through the window to hook the key off the wall but once again we were unsuccessful apart from getting my arm stuck! We even tried the old credit card trick but as we weren't master criminals we were thwarted again!!! In the end we gave up, grabbed our towels from the balcony and slept in the reception area!! Dung kept guard over us and although dogs scare me I was kind of glad as it wasn't the safest or comfiest place to be!! As I wondered in and out of sleep, I wondered if anything else could have gone wrong that day!! Still, it all adds to the adventure!!!

1st November 2008 - MOVING ON!!!
We were finally let into our room at 6am where we slept for a couple of hours before having to get up and pack. Once sorted we rode our bikes back to the shop and went for some much needed breakfast!! We then hung around and waited for the boat to take us to Koh Tao....our last island in Thailand!!!







Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



7th November 2008

HELOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :)
Hi Debbs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm on ko phiphi, chillin out some more, having lots of tea these days. I'm finally getting around to checking out your blogs, super stoked to see that you guys are having fun in the sun like me :) Where are you girls? my facebook is Iris Ready, a.k.a. squinty eyes, so if you could add me i would be thrilled. I'm meeting lots of people, but you girls have a firm place in my heart, i had such a great time bashing TAT and fending off Woody the guide with you both... goodtimes all around. Cant believe i voluntarily smeared black grease all over me. I miss you girls, and i hope to keep in touch in one way or another... have fun and stay safe sweethearts xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoiris

Tot: 0.519s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 37; qc: 134; dbt: 0.4619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb