First dive!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
June 9th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally got to dive in the sea, and it was beautiful! It was totally worth the wait. When we entered the water, the white long fish (look like silver arrows, I think they were makarels) swam ina big group around us, forming a circular wall. The bubbles look like shining mercury. At first I thought they were jelly fish. Very beautiful. The corals were beautiful too. I wish I had a camera.

I don't, however, like the skills session at the bottom of the sea (12m). I had to stay there for some time, the lungs wanted to float and it was not a nice feeling. Perhaps I ate too much in between the dives, I got a bit sea sick during the second dive. Burping helped a little. Altough the scenery is very beautiful, the sea sckness and the confined feeling throws things off a bit. I don't know whether I like it overall to be honest. I guess I have more chance to find out tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the final day of the course. I'm planning on treating myself to a nice BBQ fish dinner. Not cheap (250B) but I think it's well due. So I've been dining cheaply for the last few days. Today breakfast was 70B, lunch 50B, dinner 90B. Breakfast for tomorrow will be about 90B Lunch provided. Still averages around 100B ($3USD) a meal. Not bad!

It's a vdry early start tomorrow morning, so going to bed now.

Strangely, unlike Phuket, there are very few Australians here on Koh Tao. I haven't met any jet. However there are lots of English people. PHuket really has Jetstar to thank (although Aussie tourists don't always fly Jetstar it did the advertising on behalf!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb