Ko Tao - Italians and Fire


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Lotus Bar - beach bar 9 secs
Oh one thing that I forgot to mention is that my travel insurance didn't cover the food poisoning, both my work international insurance and the extra Blue Cross insurance that I paid $300 for declined the medical expenses! Luckily Thailand is so cheap that even medical care is cheap and the whole thing cost me $120 including prescriptions. Blue Cross will be hearing from me when I get back!

Anyways, so I decided to stay 6 days in Ko Tao...it was just too beautiful to leave. Most of my days were filled with being a beach bum (though I'm still not really tanned!) and chilling on the beach bars at night. Whats cool is that a lot of the restaurants also play movies on the beach (even ripped/downloaded new movies), stores everywhere selling the same old thing (which is why there is a t-shirt you can find everywhere in Thailand that says "Same Same, maybe different"), and the local 7 Eleven. There's also about 10 different bars on the beach but the one that everyone eventually heads to is Lotus Bar, complete with the guys that spin quarter staffs on fire and globes of fire attached to chains all night.

The past couple of nights I met a slew of different people, 3 girls from the UK, a group of 8 Americans who just ended their organized tour of 2 months going through Cambodia, Vietnam and Lao, but the most fun and interesting was these 2 Italians I met who were a breath of fresh air from all the British punks running around everywhere (Indy I wasn't impressed with your kind). Anyways, Lucia was 26, soon to be 27 in a couple of weeks and she's an international buyer for Bally's (high end fashion line...for those that don't know, including me before I met her) looking after the entire European market. She used to be a buyer for Armani, Dolce Gabbana, went to all the swanky party's and fashion shows, not a bad life! Giuseppe, Lucia's colleague, also works for Bally's in the finance dept and got nicknamed "the princess" by Lucia (I helped with the translation) since he had to only stay in the highest end rooms and kept complaining about a little cut on his foot.

Anyways long story short they were a blast to hang out with. Lucia and I took the boat taxi over to Ko Nangyuan for the day, which is 3 tiny islands connect by a small but absolutely beautiful beach. I actually ran into Remmy (my one and only Canadian that I met in Bangkok) who was staying on the 1 and only resort on Ko Nangyuan paying only $20 a night as apposed to $80 since he knew the owner of the island.

This morning I decided to go for a "real" Thai massage, not the foo-foo ones where they play soft music but ones that contort you into the different positions to fix my knee, and back and other injuries I got when I awoke on the floor from passing out from the food poisoning. So I asked around and I found the "master" on the island. This little Thai man was about half my height and probably 50 lbs less, how can he give a real Thai massage? Well let's just say that was the most painful thing I've ever experienced...it was a mix of chiropractic, and very very deep tissue pressure points using his elbows, feet, heals, etc to work out all the stiffness but after 1.5 hours of bones cracking, grunting (I scared away the children paying beside us), I was a new man (headache gone and felt loose and limber). So much so, that I was actually able to take my first Mauy Thai lesson. Pok was my instructor and this guy (about the size of the Thai "master"), loved taunting me, since he could tell that I took martial arts before. I surprised him a couple of times but I have no doubt this little feather-weight could have kicked my butt...plus I was completely out of breath, soaked in sweat after an hour and he was still taunting me without a drop of sweat and running around me in circles. Man I need to be back into shape!

Tomorrow I'm checking out of this little paradise and heading to Ko Samui to meet up with Graeme at the airport there for the next 8 days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Ko TaoKo Tao
Ko Tao

My bungalow on the beach!
Ko TaoKo Tao
Ko Tao

View from my bungalow
Ko TaoKo Tao
Ko Tao

Sunset from my bungalow
Ko NangyuanKo Nangyuan
Ko Nangyuan

Me and Lucia on our way to Ko Nangyuan
Ko NangyuanKo Nangyuan
Ko Nangyuan

Taxi over to Ko Nangyuan


16th March 2008

Wow!
The pics look amazing, Dave! Keep the stories coming...look forward to reading the next batch! Stay safe. J
17th March 2008

More... need more...
Love the stories dude. So entertaining. But start relaxing dude! You seem so busy in all of these. Glad to hear that you're having a good time. One more thing. What's the score in the game?
17th March 2008

Awesome Pictures. I am jealous you got to train with an authentic instructor. Did you have any one take a picture of you training or of the gym?
18th March 2008

Beach looks great!
Hey Dave, looks like you're having too much fun in the sun!!! Where are the topless broads? LOL BTW keep all the medical receipts you can try to claim it when you get back to Canada.
19th March 2008

Hey guys!
Hey Bob, I didn't take a pic some my performance was so pitiful, barely lasted a whole training session, but when I'm up in Chiang Mai in a about a week or so I'm going to go again for a couple of days hopefully so I'll take a pic at the Mauy Thai camp there.
19th March 2008

Quick Update
I'm on Ko Pha Ngan with Graeme from NYC and the internet cafe here doesn't have a card reader so I'll but up a new post in a couple of days when we travel over to Ko Phi Phi...my tan is finally starting to set in and finally relaxing! :)
20th March 2008

Sounds like you're having a good time Dave. Did you spend any time in Samui? Now you're on my favourite island, Pha gnan! How you liking it?

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb