Ko Tao - Sun, Sand, Hospitals.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 13th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before I left Bangkok I signed up for a 4 day PADI certified diving course in Ko Tao complete transportation (VIP Bus - which just means coach bus with cranked up AC, then a 2 hour ferry over to the island)...but the time flew by since I ended up talking to this girl originally from Seattle, who quit her job of selling cherry's at the local market and has been teaching English to 3 grades in Bangkok on her way to Ko Pangan for a 10 day meditation retreat (complete with no talking and vegetarian food - people actually pay for that?).

Now for Ko Tao, the island is simply beautiful...when you see the pics I think most of you are going to want jump on a plane and join me.

Day 1 was the first day of the diving course where we were stuck in a class room watching mind numbing videos and taking quizzes (a little hard to concetrate looking outside that window at the beautiful water). That night had dinner at the local outdoor restaurant that plays movies...we ended up watching The Hitman before crashing...

Night of day 1. OK, now for the not so fun part...so remember all that great food that I had the past couple of days, well, something that I ate ended up giving me a SERIOUS case of food poisoning, lets just say it's not worth describing the symptoms...but needless to say I ended up passing out and waking up on the bathroom floor, water everywhere since my head knocked out some pipe on the way down, banged my knee and ended up spending an entire day in the local clinic for a full bag of IV and blood work.

Don't worry I'm all good, no damage and just a swollen knew, and my stomach is already getting strong after the medicine the clinic gave me. I guess they're used to farangs eating unwisely 😞 Thanks to Jacky and her pharmaceutical ways for the advice on what medicine to take in the heat of my food poisoning.

Day three has been just chilling and checking out the island which I have to say again is simply breath taking...which is why I'm probably going to spend at least the next 3-4 days here...

If my knee heals in time I might try the Mauy Thai camp in the middle of the island 😉

Day four, feeling solid again but taking it easy so I checked out of my room and ventured into the heart of the island beach area called Sai Ree and got me a beach front bungalow for 400 baht...which is about $13!!!! so I think I'm going to stay here for a while!




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



14th March 2008

Sweet Deal Man.....
Hey Dave, Looks like you are having a great time on your trip. Try to keep away from foods that send you to the hospital and are cause for them to hook up a big bag of pee to your arm.... Nice pics from the new camera too!! Look forward to more posts...
14th March 2008

Meditatino
Hey, was that ten day course Vipassana? I did that in New Zealand! It's pretty hard core :P
16th March 2008

Meditation
I forget the name but I'll find out from Elizabeth when I get back to Bangkok
16th March 2008

Bag of pee
Yah I gave the doctor a funny look at the colour and he said that he added vitamin D to it...anyway it worked! ;)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb