Livin' it up Thai Style


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Livin' it up thai styleLivin' it up thai styleLivin' it up thai style

(atempt number 14 for this pic)
Ko Pha Ngan and Ko Tao in Thailand are the first places in my travels that I can safely say I will return to.

I had two very different experiences on both islands but above all they are fun places (they also just happen to be set in some amazing beach/jungle settings).

I started this adventure the usual way - by myself. But i'm getting better at scoping out potential friends (best place is on transport to places; boat, train, bus - good tip for you travellers out there) I started talking to three english lads around my age on the way to Ko Phan Ngan and within a few hours we were falling about a beach wasted in the early hours of the morning. They were seriously good guys and you can probably tell by the pictures that a good time was had by all. I had to thank them for organising accomodation as well as the place they booked was unbelievable - cheap, great food, places to chill out, friendly staff, beach-view-hammock-bungalows. Again the pictures say it all. This place was real difficult to say goodbye to. But before I did that there was more mopeding fun
Diving TeamDiving TeamDiving Team

Liz (Our Instructer), me and Katrin (my diving buddy)
to be done round this island, visiting waterfalls, trying to find beaches and getting a bit lost. There was only two real crazy nights had on Ko Pha Ngan but they were crackers and this blog is insufficient to convey the madness.

After some emotional goodbyes I set off myself to Ko Tao a smaller island to the North which again is mainly a backpackers hideout, but there happens to be 40 odd dive shops on this little island. So any guess'es what I did next? I got myself qualified as a PADI Open Water Scuba Diver, bring it on! Even though I spouted that achievement in the space of one measly sentence it was no trifle'ng affair. The four day course involved me to study and sit a final exam (91% bitches) as well one enclosed dive and four open water dives. They only went as far as 18metres so after i was qualified I took the first step to gain my advanced open water by going on a deep dive - me 30 metres below sea level. And down there with me grey tipped reef sharks! Thats right sharks! Fortunately they dont attack divers but there was some fat ones down there only a couple of metres away. Other cool fish were - blue banded angel fish, blue spotted stingray, white eyed moray eel, trigger fish, huge brown spotted groupers, giant barrucudas, bat fish, harlequin sweetlipse, parrot fish, moon wrasse, rabbit fish, banner fish, and lots of other schools of cool looking things. Scuba Diving is amazing and im so glad im qualfied, I now have another reason to be excited about going to Australia.

My next step is off to Bangkok, as in the next month im gonna knock out Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos!
It's time to stop taking this trip as holiday (my tan is looking great though) and get some hardcore travelling on the board.

Peace, Love and Dance

Kevin.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Ko Pha Ngan SunsetKo Pha Ngan Sunset
Ko Pha Ngan Sunset

it was a cracker
Pink Scooter boyPink Scooter boy
Pink Scooter boy

Jealous Gemma?
Best hammock everBest hammock ever
Best hammock ever

The one I spent a full 24 hours recovering in, the best hangover i ever had.
Trekking up a WaterfallTrekking up a Waterfall
Trekking up a Waterfall

It started pissin it down
Lovin the landscapeLovin the landscape
Lovin the landscape

Me, Ash, Tom, Daz
16 Multishot lad choas16 Multishot lad choas
16 Multishot lad choas

makes one great picture
Ko Tao Ko Tao
Ko Tao

A great wee island
RobRob
Rob

Rob was an australian guy who lives on the island for 2 months every year, he partied harder than all us lads put together.


15th March 2008

lucaffe
Kev, the excitement I got yesterday when walking to work was UNREAL. I walk past the garage behind our back wall, looking at the cars as I usually do. There was a branded mini-van. Guess what the brand was.... LUCAFFE!! I even took a pic: http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/1971/dsc00940ig0.jpg good talking to you yesterday boy, love the new blog too. That might be the best set of pics ever xxxx
15th March 2008

diving
Hi kevin Coming out to thailand for our 8th visit staying around 10 weeks this time with a couple weeks in vietnam in the middle. Interested in the Padi certificate. what did it cost you? Hope you don't mind me asking Enjoy your travels

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb