I am as cool as Batman.


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Kuala Tahan
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Dark KnightThe Dark KnightThe Dark Knight

I am as cool as Batman
Bats, germans, and the oldest rainforest in the world!
It doesn't get any better than this.

As already mentioned this week I was adopted by Germans, and not the weird kind, these guys were cool. Phillip and Thomas were my new friends, and I had to say bye to them today, but they may feature in a later epidsode of this blog. The german fun started as we got off the bus together and tried to find a place to stay; which was not easy. We heard about a nice hostel but getting there involved a 20 minute hike, at night, with all our gear. It did turn out to be a cool place but no one was there. The Lights were literally on but no one was home. So after hiking back some French girls told us the place they were staying was great. Turns out it was crap, but it did the Job. The first day was spent chilling out by the river, and i'm glad we did this as a monsoon of rain arrived in the afternoon (its a rainforest you know). Unlucky for the French girls who were camping in the Jungle that day (serves them
Me and Thomas album front coverMe and Thomas album front coverMe and Thomas album front cover

He said our band should be called "The Spartan Jungle Pussies". I agree.
right).

Day two was an achievement. We got a boat to take us 12km down the River and then hiked back to camp. Sounds quite straight forward, but it was tough. The humidity, streams, huge roots everywhere, scrambling (or grounding as the germans called it), alot of up and down parts. Not to mention the fucking leeches (apoligies for the language but it is deserved), bloodsucking little feckers that leave you a bloody mess. On the other hand they don't hurt that much, but its freaky how easy they crawl up your shoes and go straight through your socks. But after 5 hours we made it back sweat covered and blood stained, but feeling good about ourselves. We ate two dinners that night.

Day three was easier going, though the fun times were not over by any measure. Morning involved a trip to the canopy walkway, which is one of the big atractions in the park, you walk over a ladder held up by rope (thats my description, not theirs) but it goes as high as 50metres and is kinda fun and a little scary. some nice views were enjoyed by everyone involved - the group recruited new members from the hostel today, so some fresh international faces were about to form the coolest most dangerous cave diving team known to man (i have to stop exagerating so much - but that sounded good). Anyway I was the leader on our trip to the bat cave, I say leader but they called me the human guinea pig as I was testing the dark recess'es of the cave first. I was'nt scared then but after returning to the village people told me snakes always crawl on the roof of the cave, I don't think I would be the leader if they told me that before. But the actual cave was wet, dark, slippery, small enclosed spaces (see movie - The Descent) not to mention alot of bat shit. But it was amazing, after squeezing through some small gaps we entered the main bat chamber and they were flying all round you, though not one of them hit us. I'n not gonna lie to you it was kinda freaky, I thought they were gonna go mental and fly right at us. Thankfully this never happened, I guess the bats must have got satisfaction from the fact we were crawling around in their shit (I know I would).

Well team, my jungle adventure is over, I have met alot of cool people here and have heard about other great places to go in Malaysia. Time however is ticking on and I feel its time for me to crash Thailand.
Its time to kick it up a gear ladies and gentleman.

Please leave comments at the bottom, it lets me know im loved. And on that note I love my Mum and I missed mothers day, so I shall dedicate this blog to her!

The Dark Knight is off to work on his tan.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Admiring the incoming JungleAdmiring the incoming Jungle
Admiring the incoming Jungle

On our way to hiking spot
Before the trekBefore the trek
Before the trek

Not knackered yet
The Bat Cave TeamThe Bat Cave Team
The Bat Cave Team

Some Canadians, a yank and an english girl
View From Canopy WalkwayView From Canopy Walkway
View From Canopy Walkway

50 metres above ground
Action shotAction shot
Action shot

2 seconds later i lost my balance and my feet were soakin


3rd March 2008

Lookin' Good
Looks incredible lad, did you see any Descent mutants? After seeing Stand By Me I have an understandable fear of leeches. No similar scenes happened, I trust? Any sightings of Ruud Kleinpaste? Thailand'll be Thai-rrific, keep us updated! All the best my son...

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb