Parents, fried fish and rain (deep joy)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
March 4th 2013
Published: April 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I get the early morning boat over to Koh Samui and arrive around midday. The rain is torrential. A cab driver takes me to Bophut where my parents are staying but wants me to run to the car first because its so wet:

“no, no you first you first” I say.

“no you first!" he retorts.

"Oh this is ridiculous! Alright then!”

I get to my parents hotel. As my father has generously informed me its all booked up I have to go find my own accommodation now i'm here. I stand in front of them wondering how long it will take my mother to see me! Then I head off to find a cheap (although at 700b a night not that cheap) b and b down the road.

“Have you started drinking again?” says my father “happy hour starts at 4.30pm”

And that tells you everything you need to know right there about my own family dysfunctions! It rains solidly for the next three days. I feel so sorry for my mother, I know that all she wants to do is settle down on the beach with a good book. Eventually the sun comes
My father and IMy father and IMy father and I

The politest expression I normally have for him.
out and we can sunbathe at the pool and by the beach although after Koh Phangan the sands crammed with enormous middle aged Germans and murky seas are a bit of a let down.We have a massage on the beach and I scream as they contort me into positions, laughing as they prod us about.

We go for dinner locally in the evenings – enjoying a full deep fried fish in sweet and sour sauce. On the final night we head to the Fishing Village in Bophut. Its a touristy market crammed full of the usual tat – although they do have some lovely delicately carved soaps in the shape of orchids and chrysanthemums in little dark wooden bowls that make nice gifts and I buy a wooden fruit bowl in the shape of an apple for mother which seems to make her happy. My father has difficulty walking now so as we enter the main thoroughfare we find the nearest restaurant to have dinner. Its called The Pier and is Thai at western prices, but it overlooks the sea and is nice enough. We share ribs and a crab curry as crab is my mother and I's favourite

I've decided to head to Malaysia so say farewell after four days and nights and get a minibus at stupid o clock with a lot of Malays to do yet another visa run. Time for Penang Mark II!

Advertisement



13th April 2013

If I was meeting up with my daughter somewhere in the world...
I would have booked a suite so that we could all be together. I'm sorry to hear about your not so good relationship with you dad. I'm currently traveling around the world with my son, and he is straining our relationship...so I guess many families are dysfunctional in a way.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb