Samui - Some moi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
November 12th 2008
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 4


Exploring Samui



I woke up to find that Darren and his company are away and will head to Ko Phangan on their own and different plans to head to party and the sea is very rough to go from Ko Samui to Ko Phangan so most boat services are getting cancelled. I tentatively booked for a shared speedboat service and hoped the weather as well as situation improves by evening and rented a Thai scooter for the day and headed to up towards Big Buddha Temple(Wat Phra Yai) located in the hill northern side of Samui island close to Samui airport. After 73 gradual steps I could reach the top and the view was fantastic and could get a great view of the surroundings and also the island. I drove back and crossed Chaweng to visit Lamai beach where at the corner of the beach in rock formation I found odd looking rocks which resembled enormous penis of male and vagina of lady close to one another. After a quick bite on some snacks at Lamai I head to the jungle area towards center of the island. There was a nice waterfall one small and there after a little walk a larger one. Also on way I found some series of unknown old mystical statues in a bent on knees and saluting. I attended an crocodile show where all kind of dangerous acts were performed like an man put his had inside open jaws of crocodile. On way back, I had a coconut water from a trained monkey who climbed up a coconut tree to fetch one for me. When I reached Samui I bought long trunks from roadside stall and ate tasty sea food glass noodles at “Thuang Thong” restaurant near my hotel. I relaxed for a while and ended up watching movie "Vacation" sipping some milkshake and ice tea. Luckily the weather condition improved and I got a positive response that the boat will be leaving to Ko Phangan in time. I dressed up to head to party and as I reached for the trendy pickup van I realized I was overdressed for the occasion. I felt so odd that I head back to my room to offload excess clothes.


Way to Ko PhaNgan


I did not realize there were other people inside that van. I felt I was about to be hijacked in a van when a loud groovy disco music was been played. I heard people talk at the back of the van in some unfamiliar language. I thought I would get introduced to them and may know of their origin. Pity me! I could not understand a single word as what they spoke was French and that I have done French course! The French gang consisted of three guys Kevin, Kriss, Yannick and a girl Delphine. They have already started to party right inside the van. I realized I was in for a blast! The party van soon reached the ferry point on North side of the island where the van left us by a bar playing even louder music we along with 50 other party people stood waiting for the speedboat to get ready standing by the sea shore I did not realize that sea was that rough. So unaware of the consequences I placed myself in the rounded seats in front of the speedboat along with the French gang, couple of guys from each of Sweden and Germans. The big German people could speak English but Francophonics were finding it difficulty to understand other languages. I acted as a medium of interpreter to convey the messages to either groups in the discussion. When the boat reached the sea, I was scared to death. The boat speeded and started to swing and up and down almost vertically and more than any roller coaster ride and I could see the huge waves build up around. I felt like be neck be broken with jerks. I grabbed the arm of calm Swede next to me and hold on to him till the end of the journey. It was really scary and amusing to French as they felt it was mere joy ride.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb