Day 6 in Thailand - Hin Tai Hin Ya


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 14th 2004
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We were so tired that we slept till about 1pm plus. But we were quite determined to see a few sights, so we rented a motorbike after our breakfast at Ninja Crepe Cafe. We rent an semi-automatic motorbike from Tong's Bar, a bar at the back of the streets just across Charlie's.

< It is easy to rent a motorbike here. Motorbikes, jeeps and cars rentals everywhere. But it wasn't all that safe to ride a bike here. The roads can be quite rough and steep, and there are lots of reckless drivers waiting for accidents to happen. You should have seen how some of the travellers get a little too excited with their scramblers and went speeding down the narrow roads. However, it is one of the cheapest form of transportation here, so motorbike rentals are really popular. >

< I have no idea why I'm doing this, riding a motorbike that is. I dislike the idea of riding one, cos it was ages (9 years to be exact) since I last rode a motorbike. I really hate to put my sister's life at risk. But since it is the cheapest way of getting around the island, I did end up renting one. I ran the bike straight into the wall before I even started. Bad sign. I pitied the poor lady who rented us the bike. She sent us off with a worried look on her face. I prayed really hard that we wouldn't get into any accident. I was really paranoid about the whole thing, fearing not for my own safety but for my sister's. >

We managed to see one of the attractions - Hin Tai Hin Ya (translated to Grandfather and Grandmother Rocks). It took us a long time to get there, cos I wouldn't dare to drive beyond 20km/h (sad I know) and there were a few minor mishaps along the way. Our map flew off for one, and we had to stop by a resort to get a new one. We couldn't find which street to turn and had to walk around for quite a bit to ask for directions. We were about to give up when we finally found the damned entrance to Hin Tai Hin Ya.

< The sign for the entrance is hung so high up that it is easy to miss. Unless I drove my bike with my head in the air, there is no way we would have found it. :P It was worth it though, spending some time on the rocks and having a picnic, watching the amazing sunset.>

*Hin Tai Hin Ya is famous for its natural, phallic rock formation. The rocks look stunning against the setting sun with the turquoise sea as the backdrop.

We didn't get to see anything else much cos we started out really late (and that I was driving at an incredibly slow speed). We did stop at one of the locals' night market for a stroll. The locals tend to stare at us a lot. I wonder if it's because Asian travellers are a little less common than the Caucasians? Vivi broke one of her thong climbing the rocks and we went shopping for a new pair. We had dinner at the Quarterbacks and watched "Bad Boys 2" while we were at it. Dropped by Sweet Soul Cafe for awhile tonight, but I was really tired, so we left early.

< Feeling terribly tired today. Didn't have enough sleep because of the stupid peeping tom incident. And my legs were quite bruised from supporting the bike. Shoulders were sore from being so tensed and paranoid (about losing control of the bike and getting Vivi hurt if I did). What a backbreaker! >



Expenditure:
- rent THB300
- breakfast at Ninja Crepe Cafe, ham & cheese crepe THB45 and hot tea THB25
- motorbike rental at THB200 per day
- dinner at Quarterbacks, sandwich and hot tea THB160
- vodka blackcurrant drink from the minimart THB85
- Bacardi Breezer at Sweet Soul Cafe THB160



Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb