Amendments


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 15th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, well....he knows. The cat is officially out of the bag. I had hinted to Shaun that I was thinking about a travel blog a few times and he would do the customary little head tilt, crooked smile, not quite an eye roll, but a distinguished look of sorts. (Totally different from the Cautionary Rage Blackout look that I mentioned earlier, and a little closer to the "Babe, are you sure, this might be a bit embarrassing for you?" kinda look.) He didn't put too much stock in my claims because I usually have a scheme or two handy to pull from the vault at a moment's notice, and I'm assuming he has learned better to roll with it (it, being me) vs. put up a fuss in a no-win sitch. I will add one tiny little excerpt...Shaun is the sweetest man I have ever met, so caring and self-less, but stubborn as a mofo, so believe me, he also doesn't do anything he doesn't want to. Just didn't want to give the impression that I rule, even though most of the time he lets me think I do.
So, I had spent most of the day today on the computer, catch this...working. I know, dreadful thought, right? That's the plus and the minus of working from a remote office, you are expected to work from remote locations. My normal commute to work is a short walk to the other room and back and forth from the kitchen to warm up my coffee and an occasional trip to the yard to play with the muts. Honestly, even around the world, my schedule is about the same, however we are in a much nicer house (not that I don't adore ours) but this is three stories, several bathrooms, a quaint kitchen, super fab pool, oh and averages 85 degrees year round. Working here is easy and hard at the same time. Catching up on emails and making a few calls and blogging in a minimized window in between, I get up to take a break and in comes Shaun from the pool and takes a glance at the computer and very coyly asks "what's this babe?" (forgive the babe lingo...it started out as a little funny joke a while back with Heather, in between the Gypsy and the Wookie faze and the more we said it, the more we noticed other people
Poupe didn't know the English namePoupe didn't know the English namePoupe didn't know the English name

You eat the white insides that resemble garlic cloves, but oh sooooo sweet and yummy!
were saying it, totally 90210 Brandon Walsh and Kelly Babe, and it really is intended to be way more funny than a nickname, babe. We have those too but gawd, that's a spider web of tracing back how we actually came up with the name. Quick example...we call each other Seets. Which started out when I would call Shaun Papa-cito, and me Mama-cita, which was shortened to Cito and Cita and now its just Seets. Ok, but the Babe thing is really just funny) Wow, I had to double back to make sure I needed an end parenthesis there. I almost lost myself, believe it or not.
After I was officially found out I said, "let me finish this one last entry (SeaDeath) and then you can read it and tell me what you think." Ok, deal. I left him to his own accord, trying to give him space to come to his own conclusions, but gawd, the suspense was killing me. I would peak around the corner to see if he was smiling and for a while I tried to read my book on the deck with the door open to hear if he was chuckling at all, until
Meat DepartmentMeat DepartmentMeat Department

This is at the outdoor market.
finally I had to bust in and just get an update. He's like "you should def let me proof read your blogs babe." Ok, no surprise there, he comes from a family of teacher people and he's a super over achiever and I would expect no less from him. I'd also like to take this oppurtunity to fully admit that I have not found spell check, nor do I really intend to look much further for it, and I will try my best, but you have to take me as I am, or just keep adding to my "Amendments Page" which Shaun has kindly taken the liberty to help me start. The following is a list of Amendments that I agreed to address. I'll also add a few more pics here that I got the courage to take. Specifically the market ones. And catch this...Shaun actually pointed out a few places where I needed to elaborate on. There it's in writing and I can be certain he has never said that before. I don't anticipate it happening again, so this is the official record. Starting from the first post...

To Do It...Or Not To Do It...
3rd paragraph...
"Granite
Inside the DragonfruitInside the DragonfruitInside the Dragonfruit

It was actually really good. Easy to peel off the skin. Tastes like watermelon, only with Kiwi seeds.
the records I have kept have been in tiny little notebooks with torn covers, scribbled and stained pages with directions on which road to take to get back to the swimming hole with the waterfall that I had spent an afternoon soaking up the sun and enjoying the surrounds in 1995, somewhere in the Sierra Nevada Mountain range." hahahaa, Granite, should be granted. Duh!

4th paragraph, same posting
"Which I don't mind letting alcohal dictate some...I mean half...who I am kidding...the majority of my decisions." hahha, misspelled aclohol, what did you expect?

Rough Prestart Posting...
The bit about the food poisong at that dead show...Shaun felt I needed to explain this a bit better. Ok, so, I may or may not have been engaging in underage drinking for several hours when I made the very horrible decision to eat the Wendy's Salad that we had bought earlier that day, which had sat in the car in over 100 degree Vegas desert heat, and at that at the time, I had no qualms about dousing it with the packet of creamy Ceasar dressing and gobbling it down to the last little wilted piece of lettuce. I'm sure I did not lick the plastic container for remnants of any dressing. The next 20 hours in the car packed with already very ripe hippies was made no easier by my need to have the driver pull over every 30 minutes due to emergency. But whatever, it was a long time ago and I had hoped it was my first and last experience with food poisoning. Not so lucky. There's a time in between that one and the latest bout, but honestly, I cannot go on.

Same posting... regarding the Asiana flight crew "Korean Bond Girls". As soon as we got to the International terminal in San Francisco only to climax in Seoul, teams of identically clad woman strode past us seemingly on a mission from "The Boss" caught our attention. Every detail down to how their hair was worn and the amount of make-up they had on could not have been just coincidence. These ladies were right out of the 1970's bad video reel they show at the beginning of the flight. Except they looked really good however still dated in attire. Instead of the Sat Night Live skit where the "Buy Bye" was originated it was "Tank You, See
I am almost without wordsI am almost without wordsI am almost without words

I think I appreciate the glass case at home now
you again...heehehhee." I am not kidding, this was repeated over and over and over to the point I have now adopted the little saying in the exact manor they portrayed it down to the hand covering my mouth with a tiny little giggle. Tank you, see you again...hehehe. No doubt, I will try to get a picture from the way home, cause you have to see it!

Now, I'll just get some pics up that should been in previous posts.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Poupe!Poupe!
Poupe!

That's my girl!
Lucky and PoupeLucky and Poupe
Lucky and Poupe

He eats Thai food, what else?
Happy Hour Happy Hour
Happy Hour

Just gettin started
Our first sunset from the houseOur first sunset from the house
Our first sunset from the house

It's been clouding over the last few days at sunset, but I snapped this shot
Honestly, I have no idea why I took this Honestly, I have no idea why I took this
Honestly, I have no idea why I took this

It seemed interesting and maybe someone else may find it useful


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb