Reflections in The Rear-View Mirror


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, hard to believe we are on our way home. I feel both a little melancholy to be ending such a wonderful adventure AND at the same time - ready to go home. Here I will try to recap some of the lessons learned on this adventure. No particular format - just going to let it flow out me spontaneously.

Neurotic News
Being away from my "normal" environment - and the habits and tendencies that come with it - I had a chance to see some of my own shortcomings up close and personal (Tamra is great a helping me see them...:-) One of the most prominent: A need to feel in control was expressed mostly through a habit I have of controlling all of our stuff (mostly my stuff) Whenever I felt a little uneasy, I would find myself packing and repacking and generally organizing our stuff - making sure I knew EXACTLY where everything was, trying to anticipate when I might need my journal, my book, our passports - finding the perfect place to put them.....

Another unconscious habit that became more conscious through the weeks: Complaining or commenting on how much things cost, should cost, will cost. I became the resident expert on how much things should cost and would quote what this bowl of green curry would have cost in Chaing Mai, or Ko Chang, or Bangkok, or Chumpon. Once we got to Ko Samui, Tamra asked if I was going to comment on every item that we purchased?

Rules of the Road
Along the way we captured some guidelines we will undoubtedly use if (or when!) we endeavor another adventure. For the most part we feel good about how often we accepted whatever was happening. When we didn't, it was only us that suffered.

1. Slower is almost always Better
2. Go with the flow
3. It doesn't matter where you are
4. When traveling, choose a direction AND don't be attached to getting there
5. When in doubt about which way to go - flip a coin
6. Enjoy the Journey





Advertisement



15th January 2009

thanks for your sharing
I have really enjoyed your sharings, learned even more about what makes great relationships, and am so appreciative of what you give to your community of friends. I am curious about that 1/2 massage.......!! Am willing to go back to Thailand to experience this!! love is all there is, Stefan (not "Steve").
20th January 2009

great trip - inside and outside of yourselves!
thanks for sharing it with us - so many different aspects! erika

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb