Ko Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
September 20th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I got to Ko Samui yesterday morning after a 14 hr. train ride and a 4 hr. ferry ride. It is a nice island...I'm staying in a bungalow on a very empty beach. It's a welcome change after the insanity of Bangkok. Yesterday I walked along the water, only seeing a few people and some lonely boats. The water was warmer than the air. Crazy. There are also a lot of pups here, and not the gross mangy kind you see in the cities. They're not too friendly though. The closest I got was when one ran by and licked my hand. The birds are a little friendlier. Yesterday I was eating lunch and one jumped up and ate a peice of rice off of my plate. The people are also very nice and welcoming, although not quite as naturally intimate as the birds. There are huge dirty puddles all over the roads, which makes walking around a bit difficult, so I may rent a motor bike for a few days...we'll see.

I found out that the music festival is later than I thought, so I may be leaving the island in a few days. It's very beautiful, but I'm realizing that I really want more of a non-tourist experience, like I had a few years ago. I spent an hour or so online this morning looking up places to volunteer in Thailand and found a place which will set me up with an orphanage. If anyone knows of volunteering opportunities here, please let me know.

Then again, maybe if I leave this internet cafe and rent a motorbike and do an elephant safari, maybe I'll decide I do like the whole adventure/relaxation bit after all. I'll keep you posted.

With love and a little bit of homesickness,
Daniela

Advertisement



20th September 2005

i love you!
daniela! you are having an amazing experience. I love you and am so proud of you! rach
20th September 2005

ah the long uncomfortable bus rides, a staple in a memorable travel experience. will you be posting photos so I can travel vicariously through you? I hope you find a good volunteer spot (did you try og leapnows database?) - unless of course you take off on safari. peace and love from california.
22nd September 2005

hey danine! hope you're having fun on Samui...I could have never told you to go there :) so I'm glad you found your own way. I don't know any volunteer places but various farang mags and papers are always looking for submissions of writing...just a thought...
24th September 2005

I'm impressed
Daniela, just wanted you to know that I love reading your blog. Did you get any more info about the orphanage? Sounds like it might be an interesting place to volunteer. M, A and J send their love, as do I.
28th September 2005

incredible trip
Hi Daniela-After reading your journal (most of it) I am so impressed with your sense of adventure in traveling to foreign lands and seeing and experiencing everything new and different. Thanks for letting me live vicariously and enjoying your adventures.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb